Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
As other reviewers have said, I too, do NOT like swiss cheese. I used it anyway and thought it turned out great! I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth because that is what I had on hand. I changed the method by making a roux...melt the butter in a pot, whisk in the flour, add the milk and stir over heat until thick. Add the cheese to the milk mixture. Then I added the milk mixture to the potato mixture. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Good soup, but too heavy. Next time I'll use half the cheese (in fact, I thought it tasted great BEFORE adding the cheese). Also, I used rice milk instead of cows milk so it's even lighter than it would have been. Also, used celery instead of onions since neither my son or me like onions. Also, chopped up fresh parsley instead of dried. Thought that added some great flavor. Will definitely make it again...just with a couple more modifications (I like to experiment). Maybe with cheddar instead of Swiss cheese next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jiriki13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Best potato soup ever.. couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This soup is quite easy to make and very delicious! I didn't have Swiss cheese at the time, so I used Cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlyGirl11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I love this recipe, even my picky father and sister love it. Great for lenten fridays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashcorine
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was my first potato soup! I used 5 small/medium sized potatoes, a whole can of veggie broth (almost 2 cups) and added a dash of garlic salt. It turned out amazing! I topped it with fresh chives and some shredded colby jack cheese. I was hesitant about the Swiss cheese, but it was perfect. Other than my minor additions, I wouldn't have changed anything about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Really good soup but I adjusted this soup a little bit and I have to admit it is the best soup I have ever made. Instead of vegetable broth, I used a can of cheese soup and I added a 3/4 cup of Pale Ale ( Bridgeport's if you are wondering). I also added 1/2 cup of cheddar and jack cheese. This recipe came out amazing! Everyone loved it and they are begging for seconds! Might be good to add broccoli too if you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
We loved it. It was easy to make. Will make this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Easily one of my favorite dishes. I like it better than my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States