Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This soup was SOOOO good! But I made changes cuz' I forgot to buy some stuff.. I used 3 cups whole milk instead I used Velveeta and Sharp Cheddar cheeses I didn't have celery seed so I added some garlic and a cajun seasoning I didn't have flour so I used biscuit mix that was an All-Purpose Mix I used maybe 8-10 potatoes, 2 carrots chopped, and 2 stalks of celery chopped. I used 1.5 cup of vegetable broth and 1.5 cups of chicken broth. Because of adding more of things, I also had to add more parsley, salt and pepper as it went along. it made about 6 bowls worth but I was really hoping I'd have leftovers. Next time i will add more of everything so I have some left over. It was SOOO good! I "garnish" it with smoked sausage because the men need their beef; so we put sausage on top of the soup and serve with french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Delicious! My son, who doesn't usually like potato soup, loved it too. He said if I make it like this everytime, he'll always eat it. The only thing I did differently was I used colby jack cheese because that is what I had on hand. Would like to try it with the swiss next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moberly, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Really loved this recipe. I used heavy cream, because was out of milk. It was a little thick, but great. Next time, I'll halve the flour. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Herreid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goldendale, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
It was okay. Like some have said it was bland. I also do NOT like how they tell you to thicken it. I like my roues cooked a little before putting into liquids, should have gone with my gut on that and not the recipe. Next time ill add some ham with the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Made this recipe as given. Lovely soup for a winter weekend, the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Wonderful and so easy. Used sharp cheddar instead of swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I left out the celery, added bacon, used Sharp Cheddar rather than Swiss cheese and it was AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clacie
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
We love this soup! I leave out the salt and use shredded Mexican blend cheese. Great for my vegetarian daughter and the rest of us can add bacon or ham if we choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdantzler65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
FAntasic !! only change i made was putting half the milk and adding half and half..really helped get that creamy taste ! Im keeping this recipe forever its sooo good!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I did some minor adjustments to the recipe to suit personal taste. I used sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes, marble cheese instead of swiss cheese, and some sweet potato squash that I had been looking for something to do with, but all in all it was a great recipe. Perfect for a chilly November evening. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States