Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this soup yesterday and after tweeking it, it came out great. I ended up adding a whole block of Velvetta and 3/4 of a block of Kraft Medium Cheddar Cheese. I also only used 1/2 stick of butter instead of a whole and did not add the salt. I think next time I will add another potato and another carrot. I also ended up putting in some half and half at the end to thin it out a little. Definitely didn't need the cornstarch and milk mixture for thickening. The one thing I would like to mention is when making this soup, you must make sure to turn the heat off when adding the cheese cause if you don't you run the risk of it turning out with a curdled consistency. I took some of it to my daughters today and she thought it was better than Big Boys Canadian Cheddar Cheese Soup which has always been her favorite, so boy was I happy! This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I doubled this recipe. Instead of cooking this on the stove, I threw the potatoes, carrots, celery and onion into the crockpot and covered them with organic chicken broth (instead of cooking them in plain water and in place of the chicken soup base) and cooked them all day. After they'd cooked, I quickly ran a potato masher through them for a quick coarse texture, then added the milk (condensed milk, it's easier to cook with) and the Velveeta. I did not need the cornstarch as the potato soup was thick enough on it's own thanks to the Velveeta. I did add a couple personal touches (a few spices, little Frank's Hot Sauce, sauteed green onion and fresh minced garlic, real bacon bits). I think had I not added the extras, it would have turned out quite bland. The end result was a decent soup and the boys seemed to enjoy it, especially my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Everyone loved it! I added 1 cup of shredded cheese, because we love cheese and I recommend not adding any salt because Velveeta and the cheese are both salty. But this is a hit. Easy and reheats well, even in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Fabulous! We didn't even need to add the cornstarch, as the starch from the potatoes we used thickened it up nicely. I ended up putting in about 12 oz. of cheese instead of 8. We topped it with crispy crumbled bacon and chopped chives. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
This is very good soup. It's a little time-consuming with all the chopping involved. It's not as thick as usual, but that's ok with me. I definitely will make it again on a cold day. I only used 2 tablespoons of butter instead of a half cup. That's too much grease for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This soup is delicious. I did add some extra cheese and some crumbled bacon to it. My children, who are picky at times, always love eating this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Box Elder, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I hate to admit how much I like Velveeta!! I'm sure this would be great with regular cheddar but the Velveeta made this soup so creamy! I used a 16 oz box of Velveeta. Other than that, the only change I made was to puree some of the soup before adding the cheese to thicken it up and I didn't need to add any cornstarch or anything. It made a lot-was great to dip french bread in and I had leftovers for lunch for two days! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I made this tonight. It was awesome. I will for sure make it again. It's a keeper. I put a little more cheese in cause I like cheese.But I didn't change nothing else in it. It was sssooooo gooood. Everybody you have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eldridge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe was awesome!! I followed the recipe as given, except I added more cheese including about 1-2 oz. of pepperjack which gave it a wee bit of a bite. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great tasting! Okay texture, a little bit too mushy. Next time I would hold off on mashing the potatoes and keep them whole. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Needham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States