Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
This is very good soup. It's a little time-consuming with all the chopping involved. It's not as thick as usual, but that's ok with me. I definitely will make it again on a cold day. I only used 2 tablespoons of butter instead of a half cup. That's too much grease for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Everyone loved it! I added 1 cup of shredded cheese, because we love cheese and I recommend not adding any salt because Velveeta and the cheese are both salty. But this is a hit. Easy and reheats well, even in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Fabulous! We didn't even need to add the cornstarch, as the starch from the potatoes we used thickened it up nicely. I ended up putting in about 12 oz. of cheese instead of 8. We topped it with crispy crumbled bacon and chopped chives. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I made this tonight. It was awesome. I will for sure make it again. It's a keeper. I put a little more cheese in cause I like cheese.But I didn't change nothing else in it. It was sssooooo gooood. Everybody you have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eldridge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I loved this recipe. I added shrimp, corn, and broccoli to the soup along with bacon and half a can of rotel. Be sure to process the rotel with the broccoli. Great with friends on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
very good. I did did not add carrots, added much more cheese and only used about 3 tbls of butter. The only chicken base I had was a southwestern Chicken base so I added a little jalepeno and monterey jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
The only changes I made were to use WAY less margarine, and also French onion soup mix plus a couple of chicken bouillon cubes. It turned out pretty thick by itself, so I didn't need to add much cornstarch/milk either. Good stuff. Thanks, Shauna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
We just had 16 inches of snow today and we thought this soup would be perfect for this cold winter day. It is a great soup, make sure you salt it though. I agree the 1/2 cup of butter was too much. I used 2 Tbsp and 2 tsp of olive oil. I did use a little more cheese than the recipe stated though. Top with poped popcorn for a wonderful winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weldon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great tasting! Okay texture, a little bit too mushy. Next time I would hold off on mashing the potatoes and keep them whole. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Needham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I hate to admit how much I like Velveeta!! I'm sure this would be great with regular cheddar but the Velveeta made this soup so creamy! I used a 16 oz box of Velveeta. Other than that, the only change I made was to puree some of the soup before adding the cheese to thicken it up and I didn't need to add any cornstarch or anything. It made a lot-was great to dip french bread in and I had leftovers for lunch for two days! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States