Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Delicous! I made a couple changes based solely on preference. I added 16 oz of Velveeta as opposed to the 8 recommended, and I also added a jar of bacon bits. Also, I wanted the soup to be creamy rather than chunky, so I put my soup in the blender on puree for a few seconds just to get it really creamy. It was absolutely WONDERFUL and my whole family enjoyed it... including my 2 small children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Flores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was a great soup! The only thing I did differently was I added mushrooms to the onion and celery mixture. I will make this again. My whole family loved it and it was super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Lawrence, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I just made a Vegan version of this soup and it is fantastic! Substituted vetgan cheese (Daiya), EarthBalance for butter, almond milk, and veggie boullion. Also, before adding the "cheese", I ran a couple cups of the cooked veggies thru the food processor to thicken the soup instead of corn starch. I will definitely make this soup again. It is awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I loved this recipe. Simple, easy, and oh so yummy. I didn't add the cornstarch and extra milk (as I've seen many others say). But I also added a cup of frozen broccoli (my husband and I will add broccoli to anything) and it added a nice color. After cooking this, I added it to our crock pot (set on warm) because we were having company- worked out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was a fabulous soup with such a creamy texture. I added evaporated milk instead of regular milk. Did not add cornstarch. I doubled the amount of carrots and celery called for because I love soups loaded with veggies. Do not add salt unless you don't truly care about heart health. I will keep this recipe as a "most loved" soup! The kids gobbled it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was fantastic. I used cabbage and carraway seeds instead of celery. I doubled the cheese. Added the cornflour and cream at the end. It was delicious and filling. Easy to make with nothing much in the cupboard. This was even better the next day. Utterly delicious and very hearty. We enjoyed it enormously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Tasted great. Had to doctor it quite a bit. I probably used the wrong type of potatoes. Definitely use more potatoes and cheese than recipe calls for here. I didn't need the cornstarch and cut down on the margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Wow! So good! I didnt make it exactly the way the recipe says because I didnt have everything. No celery, and I didnt have chicken soup base so used a little chicken boullian in some hot water. It turned out excellent! My husband told me that I have to make it again! Thanks for the great recipe! Update: made this again and its just as great as the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Wonderful soup, not too thick. Very good served with toasted rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was VERY good. I'd been looking for a potato soup recipe that would be worth making again - this is it - delicious! Like others, I didn't wind up needing to use the cornstarch to thicken it. HOWEVER, that may be because I used a couple extra potatoes & mashed some as I stirred before serving. Also, like others, I put crumbled bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States