Potato Cheese Calico Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This soup was so good Mr. LTH said he liked it, without being asked! I chose to add 4 cloves of garlic (because garlic makes everything better and just seemed a happy threesome with potatoes and cheese) to the onions/potatoes/broth. I had to eyeball/guesstimate the pound of potatoes, but I did my best (peeling the white potatoes, first). I'm way too lazy to do the whole blender thing, so I used my immersion blender instead and it worked like a charm. While the potatoes et al were boiling (the 10 minutes was spot on for me), I sautéed the chopped baby bells and diced red bell in a pat of butter to soften them up. I used white pepper, dried parsley, and season salt to season (as well as salting the broth/potatoes as they boiled). The texture/appearance wasn't quite company worthy, but it tasted good and I'm looking forward to leftovers for lunch tomorrow. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
OMG! I love it! Add ground nutmeg and it becomes unbeleivable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I didn't have all the veggies on hand, so I made just the soup base (from potatoes, broth, onion, milk, and cheese). It was delicious even by itself. I can't wait to make the full recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I replaced the Asiago with Cheddar. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This came out very nice! I made a few slight changes, though. Along with the potatoes, I boiled chopped green bell pepper, chopped onions and sliced mushrooms until soft. I pureed all of that together (my kids don't like 'chunky' soup) until smooth. I added some light cream I had in the fridge and used finely shredded mild cheddar instead of Asiago cheese.... It tasted great! I had some leftover soup in a container and the next day I made up a sort of 'lasagne' dish using this soup as the "sauce"! I figured I didn't even need to add anything to it; not even the cheese! I cooked up some ground beef, alternately layered the (cold) soup, lasagne noodles, chopped fresh baby spinach and ground beef in a casserole dish and baked it all up until brown & bubbly. It came out great and the fam had no idea it was the potato cheese soup from the previous day! So this recipe easily "stretches". Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I just gave birth to my first daughter and i descided i should probably learn how to cook! This being one of my very first soups ever made was absolutely wonderful! So easy and so yummy, my husband loved it! Very filling! I added a little more red bell peppers because i love the crunchy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I made this easy soup Thurs evening before we headed out for our dart league. Hmmmm...not sure what we think about this one. I didn't have asaigo cheese so I used a combo of real grated parmesan and romano cheese instead. I'm not allowed to use my blender (due to a previous soup puree incident)so I used my hand mixture instead. The result was like really runny mashed potatoes...I even added a little more milk to get it more to a soup consistency without success. The taste seemed to need some more spices too. Overall, it was okay and really easy but I'm not sure if I'd make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I've been meaning to review this for a while. It is a family favorite. We just love it. I make it just the way it is written and it turns out great every time. I love cheese, so I probably add a bit more than it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States