Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Throw in a small can of chopped green chilis for a nice addition to the flavor of this dish. Also, cream of celery soup, or other cream soups may be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is a good, quick, easy dish for a crowd (I was cooking for 40). I made some adjustments to add additional flavor and nutrition, which I think was definitely needed. It would have been too bland w/o it. With the onions I sauteed finely chopped broccoli, diced bell pepper, and chunks of ham. I also stirred the hash browns into the mixture, instead of just laying mixture on top, and used fried onions as topping. I think corn flakes, bread crumbs, fried onions or additional cheese would all work nicely as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great side dish for any dinner with chicken, cubed steak etc. A good alternative to mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Too sour and didn't like the texture. If I ever make this again I would use a lot less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Made for Christmas Eve family dinner. Went very well with our baked ham. Great go-to side dish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I've made this with French's fried onions as alt topping with Ham.peas, & mushrooms added in to turn it into a main dish Have used both the cubed style HB or the Shred HB both good. Surplus of potatoes on hand, make it with fresh cubed also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edenton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
AWESOME!!!!! I added fresh minced garlic to the onions and it was a hit. My family loves garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
My family loves this and I now make this with Durkee french fried onions instead of the corn flakes I stir some inside and sprinkle them over the top its not low fat but its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was wonderful. I've made it twice now, the first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I didn't top the casserole with corn flakes or butter. Instead, I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese and baked it. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acl1209

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I loved this casserole. I combined the hash browns with the cheese/sour cream/soup and only used a pat of butter to saute the onions. A stick is way too much. Same for the corn flakes, just enough butter to coat the corn flakes before putting them on. I also had to cook at a lower temp to accommodate other items in the oven, but it wasn't even an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States