Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made a "healthified" version of this recipe. I used reduced fat cheese, light sour cream, reduced fat cream of chicken soup, and 2 tbsp non-hydrogenated butter spread to moisten the corn flakes. I sauteed the onion (1/2 cup chopped) in a little olive oil. I mixed everything together instead of layering. Oven at 350 for 1 hour. I put on corn flakes after 30 min in the oven. (Maybe using spray butter on the flakes would have cut even more calories, but I didn't have any on hand.)I brought this to Christmas Eve dinner and everyone loved it! They were all surprised when I told them it's a reduced fat version. There were no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
For meat and potatoe eaters, they love the change up from mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Babalis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaller, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I did change the recipe. My husband has gluten intolerance, so I counld not use the cream of mushroom soup. I did find recipes to make gluten free soup, but didn't have the time. I used cream cheese as recommended by a reviewer, and the dish turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
You can never go wrong with this. It is best to saute the onions first though. They are much more tender that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I was only making enough for 4 plus a bit of leftovers for my husbands lunch, so I cut down on the amount of soup and sour cream to half. I mixed in some mexican cheese blend that I had on hand along with some of Emerils Essence ( I prepare this spice blend rather than buying it to save money and can still use the spices for other recipes) to kick it up a notch. As with one other review I also used the Ore-Ida potatoes with peppers and onions and put the cornflakes, and some sharp cheddar cheese on top the last 15 min of cooking. To save on calories I sprayed the baking dish with pam instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Tasted excellent. I skipped the cheese altogether and made it on stove top as I was in a hurry but the husband could not have enough of it. Thanks for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Waaayyyy too much butter. Next time, I'd use at least a 1/4 less butter than what is called for. It was swimming in butter when pulled from the oven, but after it cooled a bit, it was less greasy. I've made similar recipes before that called for less butter and they turned out fine. Other than that, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was okay - I only tasted it. The kids enjoyed it and it was all gone. Not something I would make for me but worked well for a big crowd with lots of other food choices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
So very yummy and makes a good size amount! Was surprised at how wonderful it tasted =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
i gave this 4 stars because it is simple and tastes pretty good, but it's not for special occasions with company. more like a crowd feeder at a barbeque. the flavor was just a little processed, perhaps because of the condensed soup. but it'll do in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States