Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
My family and I love this recipe! I made a few changes to add color and extra flavor based on previous reviews. I used Potatoes O'Brien instead of hash browns, as the package includes red and green pepper and onions. I also used only one stick of butter, which seemed to be enough. And the only other change I made was, I added the cornflakes and the rest (1/2 stick) of the melted butter during the last 30 minutes of cooking, the crust turned out crispy and perfectly browned. I will definitely continue to make these potatoes as a side-dish for my family and friends! This casserole has such a strong, rich flavor; it's also very filling and belly-warming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I liked it very easy and simple. I added real mushrooms and cubed/dice ham to have more protein to the dish. instead of heating the onion i place in the bowl to mix up the ingredients. It was very good. My daughter had three helpings and always asks for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Love this recipe! I know...it's bad for you...but it's oh so delicious. I do cut back the calories by using non fat cream of mushroom soup, low fat cheese, low fat sour cream, and light butter. It still tastes fantastic. This is a great side dish for a family meal or a great dish to take to a pot luck. It always goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
excelent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is really good! Don't change a thing, make the recipe as called for! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
It's great! I did do a few things differently. First I used just cheddar cheese soup. Then I did sour cream to taste I love sour cream and so tasting it within the dish is fine with me. Also I put in at 375 and checked in after about 30 minutes then let it go again for about another 20 or so. I put the corn flakes on about 15 minutes before I took it out of the over. There were a few burnt ones but it seemed to work good. I also used to butter at all besides using a spray to grease the pan. I omitted the onions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HippiePeace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I don't add any butter, I use 2 container of sour cream. I use Potato chips on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Too greasy! I wanted a Hashbrown Casserole recipe that tastes just like Cracker Barrel's - delicious & cheesy. This sounded intriquing because who doesn't like butter, right? I used 6TBS of the stick to saute the onions and the remaining 2TBS for the topping (I didn't have cornflakes so I used Panko breadcrumbs), so total that was 1/2 the stated amount! The casserole was, literally, swimming in grease! I'm trying to blot the remainder on paper towels in hope of salvaging it for leftovers. The topping was very good & I will be using that on my other recipe but this is definitely NOT something that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was a huge hit for Christmas brunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I thought it was fine but a bit bland. Needed some type of extra seasoning but don't know what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States