Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
very good...but I changed a few things. I cooked the onions in olive oil and only 1/4 cup of butter. I also used a little olive oil to moisten the corn flakes and I did not put the flakes on top until the last 15 minutes of baking. I just didnt like it with all that butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ripley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe. Obviousy mls has not made it, because it does not come out soupy at all. I don't think recipes should be rated if they haven't been followed properly. The bad thing is, readers are heading that rating. Excellent dish, everyone asks for it at gatherings over and over again!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Wow! awesome! These are the changes that I made, first I sautee the onion plus I added a clove of crushed garlic. then I mixed in a bowl the mushroom soup with the cheddar cheese and 2 TBSP of milk- NO sour cream- then I mixed in the hashbrowns ( I try no to get the tiny tiny ones but a more larger size hashbrowns) and then I just mixed this all together and put it in a greased dish. On top I sprinkled Italian seasoned breadcrumbs and this was amazing!! NO NEED FOR 1 CUP OF BUTTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
A neighbor gave me this recipe 15 years ago and I lost it when my computer crashed. It's been a favorite for large crowds. Thanks for giving it back to me. This time it will go in a safer place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AxE Juggalette
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Had leftovers and tasted great even then. I will try it with a little less butter next time. Don't get me wrong I LOVE BUTTER but it was a little greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ar4stall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Oh boy, I don't even know where to begin with this casserole. I think this is one of the best thing I've ever laid my taste buds on. I think that my taste buds were even drooling.. haha!! I made this with meatloaf and corn on the cob. I followed the recipe to the exact, didn't change one thing. This casserole also makes for awesome leftovers... I honestly think I liked the leftovers more then I liked it when it came fresh out of the oven. I think that the ingredients had time to marinate overnight, to make for a even tastier treat... and I honestly thought it couldn't get any better. Lol!! Loved it and will definitely make again, thank you!! :o) Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I love this recipe! I cut the butter and sour cream in half, use french fried onions on top, use the family size cream of chicken soup, sometimes use half pepper jack and half cheddar, add small ham cubes, and 3/4C low-fat cottage cheese, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2tsp onion powder and salt, fresh ground black pepper to taste. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri Dameron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made a "healthified" version of this recipe. I used reduced fat cheese, light sour cream, reduced fat cream of chicken soup, and 2 tbsp non-hydrogenated butter spread to moisten the corn flakes. I sauteed the onion (1/2 cup chopped) in a little olive oil. I mixed everything together instead of layering. Oven at 350 for 1 hour. I put on corn flakes after 30 min in the oven. (Maybe using spray butter on the flakes would have cut even more calories, but I didn't have any on hand.)I brought this to Christmas Eve dinner and everyone loved it! They were all surprised when I told them it's a reduced fat version. There were no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
For meat and potatoe eaters, they love the change up from mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaller, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States