Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Excellent! I halved the recipe for my family of 4 and it made just the right amount with no leftovers. I gave the recipe 5 stars based on flavor and ease of preparation but, I did make a few alterations. The recipe calls for way too much butter. You only need a few tablespoons of butter to saute the onion - not a whole stick. Even though I halved the recipe, I still used the entire can of soup(didn't want it to go to waste). The sauce seemed a little too thick so I added about 1/4 -1/3 cup (skim) milk. After pouring the sauce over the potatos, I dotted the top with a few pats of butter (approxe 3 TBSP)instead of using the remaining stick that the recipe called for. I also substituted durkee french fried onions for the cornflakes which I added during the final 5 - 10 minutes of baking. The whole casserole only took about 1/2 hr to cook. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
my aunt makes something like this...I call them cheesy tatoes :) I really only use this recipe for measurement purposes...b/c instead of cream of mushroom I use cream of chicken, and I leave out the corn flakes and onion completely...PERFECT comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
very good...but I changed a few things. I cooked the onions in olive oil and only 1/4 cup of butter. I also used a little olive oil to moisten the corn flakes and I did not put the flakes on top until the last 15 minutes of baking. I just didnt like it with all that butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ripley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe. Obviousy mls has not made it, because it does not come out soupy at all. I don't think recipes should be rated if they haven't been followed properly. The bad thing is, readers are heading that rating. Excellent dish, everyone asks for it at gatherings over and over again!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Wow! awesome! These are the changes that I made, first I sautee the onion plus I added a clove of crushed garlic. then I mixed in a bowl the mushroom soup with the cheddar cheese and 2 TBSP of milk- NO sour cream- then I mixed in the hashbrowns ( I try no to get the tiny tiny ones but a more larger size hashbrowns) and then I just mixed this all together and put it in a greased dish. On top I sprinkled Italian seasoned breadcrumbs and this was amazing!! NO NEED FOR 1 CUP OF BUTTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
A neighbor gave me this recipe 15 years ago and I lost it when my computer crashed. It's been a favorite for large crowds. Thanks for giving it back to me. This time it will go in a safer place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AxE Juggalette
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Had leftovers and tasted great even then. I will try it with a little less butter next time. Don't get me wrong I LOVE BUTTER but it was a little greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ar4stall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Oh boy, I don't even know where to begin with this casserole. I think this is one of the best thing I've ever laid my taste buds on. I think that my taste buds were even drooling.. haha!! I made this with meatloaf and corn on the cob. I followed the recipe to the exact, didn't change one thing. This casserole also makes for awesome leftovers... I honestly think I liked the leftovers more then I liked it when it came fresh out of the oven. I think that the ingredients had time to marinate overnight, to make for a even tastier treat... and I honestly thought it couldn't get any better. Lol!! Loved it and will definitely make again, thank you!! :o) Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States