Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
We love this casserole. I use shredded cheddar cheese instead of cubed. It mixes better plus every bite of casserole has cheese in it! I also use the southern style potatoes instead of the hashbrowns and love the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I like to use grated cheddar, but this is addictive & awesome. This is the best version I've tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This casserole was good....have made before but this was the first time using this recipe. Could have used a bit more flavor. Found the potatoes to be a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSomers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Wasn't a fan of this...the cream of chicken soup didn't mesh well with the potatos and the butter made the cornflakes taste funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Vogl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Careful on the onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I always use cream of celery soup, green onions, southern hash browns, which are cubed. My family call this dish "Party Potatoes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
We really liked this recipe. I might have to try the paprika idea, but it was easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I have eaten many cheesy potato casserole variations. This is the one I like the best! The rich flavor and creamy/cheesy sauce is just wonderful! Now for my variations: * I don't use corn flake topping * I still DO use the margarine Here's what I do: * Pour the potatoes in a large bowl and put the chopped onion on top. * In a saucepan, I mix the sour cream, butter, and soups together and heat them VERY hot. Then I stir in the cheese to melt and blend. * Pour the hot mixture over the frozen potatoes. (Helps them thaw) Stir. * Bake in 9x13 baking dish (COVERED with foil sprayed w/cooking spray) at 350° for 45 minutes...turn off the heat and leave in the oven for about 15 more minutes. There are never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Tried this recipe the first time for company and it received rave reviews. It's fantastic! Some points: -I live in Canada, and our hashbrown bags come in 1 kg. size. That's 2.2 pounds. And sure enough, while mixing it up, it seemed like the casserole would be dry if I added the whole bag, so I saved back about 1 c. -shredded extra old cheddar for superb cheesy flavour -6 green onions chopped (1 bunch) in addition to the one onion. And I sauteed the onion in butter to soften it first. -I probably used 1 1/2 cups sour cream. Didn't measure. Again, I didn't want the casserole to be dry. -half hour covered then half hour uncovered. I think it could use more time covered. The potatoes were ever-so-slightly too firm, though no one complained as they tasted sooooo good! And yes, defrostint them first is necessary. -butter instead of margarine with the cornflakes. If you're making this, you're not dairy- or fat-averse, so why not go all the way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States