Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
We make this every Christmas and Easter with our honey baked ham. I also substitute another cream of chicken soup in place of the cream of mushroom. A tip: mix up a day early and keep in fridge, that way potatoes are thawed and no mess mixing up at last minute. You do have to thaw the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
The receipe calls for frozen potatoes but you have to defrost them. I've made this for years and that's what I've always done and never had any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Great flavor but I couldn't get the potatoes to cook through. After 45 minutes they were still pretty hard. I cooked for another 20 minutes and they were still hard. I tried again with shredded potatoes and still couldn't get the potatoes to cook through. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
My mother and I have been making this casserole for potlucks and for home for ages! It's good the way that it's written, but we like to tweak the ingredients just a little bit to make it suit our family's taste. I use a can of Campbells Fiesta Cheese soup instead of the shredded cheddar. It gives the casserole an even creamier texture and I like the kick that the peppers in the soup offer. Also, you can really use any 2 "cream of" soups that you have on hand. I have used cream of celery, cream of chicken, cream of mushroom...the possibilities are endless. Make this your own and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I used cream of celery in place of the cream of mushroom and 2 bags of the fresh refrigerated hash browns. Best potato casserole I've made and I have tried many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
Loved the recipe and so did my family. My tip though is that 350F is not hot enough, it needs to be at at least 375F, and if it gets crispy on top too quickly than just cover it for half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe can be "kicked up a notch" by sprinkling the top with Paprika and/or adding some garlic to the soup mixture. Without some seasoning, it can be somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Hmmmm. I consider myself a pretty good cook, so I don't think I made this dish incorrectly, so I guess our families tastebuds must be quite different than most. This was not a very popular dish with anyone, to include our 6 year old son or my teenage daughter who loves all things potato. This was quite dry ( I used all the required liquid) and rather bland. The consistency of the hashbrowns was also somewhat off. My 10 year old son *(also a potato fan)thought it would have tasted much better fried up, which we did try for the second go around (still quite dry) When we were on the third night of it (and this is a rather hearty family of 6 -so you can imagine how well this went over the third night) I used it as a topping for two pot pies I had made -sort of a la a shepherds pie. Still not a favourite. But...it did pass the Wolseley test -(Wolseley=our much loved black lab) gobbled it up. On the positive side -quick and cheap to make so I could see how this would be a fan favourite at potlucks or family parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLSELEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enslev, Midtjylland, Denmark
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I get compliments on this every time. I use cream of onion in place of the cream of chicken and top with fried onions. You can add some lightly sauteed diced green peppers and cooked ground beef to this for a casserole dinner. I agree with preparing it ahead of time and letting it thaw in the refrigerator--that's the only way I do it. This also freezes well so you can double the recipe. I think this is a bit salty, so I am going to omit the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
Could use more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States