Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made this recipe twice and both times my family and guests enjoyed it. The second time I topped it with french fried onion rings during the last 10 minutes of baking. It is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is my favorite cheese potato casserole, it's been served by my family for as long as I can remember. Can't bake a ham without it! I don't use the cornflakes and I bake it covered in foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I have tried similar recipes but this one is the best. The only thing I do different is 1/2 cup of butter. I tried a full cup of butter and it was just to grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
My mother and I have been making this casserole for potlucks and for home for ages! It's good the way that it's written, but we like to tweak the ingredients just a little bit to make it suit our family's taste. I use a can of Campbells Fiesta Cheese soup instead of the shredded cheddar. It gives the casserole an even creamier texture and I like the kick that the peppers in the soup offer. Also, you can really use any 2 "cream of" soups that you have on hand. I have used cream of celery, cream of chicken, cream of mushroom...the possibilities are endless. Make this your own and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Hmmmm. I consider myself a pretty good cook, so I don't think I made this dish incorrectly, so I guess our families tastebuds must be quite different than most. This was not a very popular dish with anyone, to include our 6 year old son or my teenage daughter who loves all things potato. This was quite dry ( I used all the required liquid) and rather bland. The consistency of the hashbrowns was also somewhat off. My 10 year old son *(also a potato fan)thought it would have tasted much better fried up, which we did try for the second go around (still quite dry) When we were on the third night of it (and this is a rather hearty family of 6 -so you can imagine how well this went over the third night) I used it as a topping for two pot pies I had made -sort of a la a shepherds pie. Still not a favourite. But...it did pass the Wolseley test -(Wolseley=our much loved black lab) gobbled it up. On the positive side -quick and cheap to make so I could see how this would be a fan favourite at potlucks or family parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLSELEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enslev, Midtjylland, Denmark
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I have made this dish for over 15 years. I use Cream of mushroom and chicken soup, then one of each. Everyone always ask me to bring this dish to every event and holiday. Best dish I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I used cream of celery in place of the cream of mushroom and 2 bags of the fresh refrigerated hash browns. Best potato casserole I've made and I have tried many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe can be "kicked up a notch" by sprinkling the top with Paprika and/or adding some garlic to the soup mixture. Without some seasoning, it can be somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This turned out really good. I thawed the hashbrowns in the microwave and only used cream of chicken (2 cans) because I don't like mushroom soup. I baked it at 325 for an hour because I was cooking a ham and it turned out perfect. I did have one request (out of 8 people eating it) to cut the onions in smaller peices, but everyone else said they were fine. I added a couple dashes of pepper and used a couple dashes of sea salt instead of the regular amount of salt it called for. I'm making it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Delicious! I made these for Christmas dinner, served with ham, glazed carrots and crescent rolls. These were a fantastic accompaniment and everyone loved them, even my 5-year-old very picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States