Potato Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
My dad has been making this since I was little - we LOVE this dish. Ours is a little different. We use 8 oz of sour cream (instead of 16 oz). We do not use the following: milk, parsley, or paprika. Make sure the onion and green pepper are chopped very fine. BEFORE adding the cheese on top, COVER and bake at 350 for one hour. Remove from oven, generously sprinkle with cheddar uncovered, and bake for an additional 15-20 minutes. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Personally I would have given this 5 stars, I really liked it, but the kids said yuk and my husband and his brother said it was ok, nothing special. Was a good complement to a grilled steak dinner, good flavor. I'd make this again for an all-adult crowd. I also liked that it was done and cooking while I was busy with the other food and cleanup. It was easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This recipe was very easy to make. instead of the seasoning i just used a prepared seasoning mix. cooked for around 2 hours. My 2 year old daughter LOVED IT!! I made this for thanksgiving dinner and every single person was raving about how creamy and flavorful it was. REALLY GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Wanted a main dish so I added ground beef and everyone LOVED it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I chose this for a sorority fundraiser dinner. We served 80 people and the raves flew in. I baked it a bit longer due to the volume we made. Shredded potatoes taste much better than the cubed. Can't wait to have this again. Save left overs for breakfast with your eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This recipe was yummy! I even accidentally bought potato rounds instead of the hash browns and it was great. I am giving it a 4 because I didn't need to cook it nearly as long as the recipe said. I cooked it for 1 hour and it was heated through nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABRINAWRIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Excellent. Should try a little cheese in the potato mixture in addition to what is on top. Could probably come out in less time than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Gerald Krauss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is better if you smash the tator tots, leave out the cream of celery, milk and bell pepper and cut way back on the parsley. Add 2 cups shredded cheddar into the mix and top with extra cheddar. Cover with foil and you won't have to cook as long. Take foil off the last few minutes and the top will brown a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
These were good but I have other potato casseroles that I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Been making this for YEARS, with only onion and one soup. It is a must have and always requested for every gathering. I don't know about green pepper for most, but I'm going to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon

Potatoes, bacon, cheese...need we say more?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States