Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
So yummy! This is a favorite of ours. I never buy frozen potatoes to make this, though. I always just use my own potatoes peeled, diced, and par-cooked on stove-top before baking. I must have made a hundred times already, and probably will make a few hundred more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
oh my gosh I just had this and it is sooooo good. Comfort food at it's best. I even used all lowfat/nonfat ingredients (fat free sour cream, fat free condensed soup, 1 cup fat free sharp cheddar, 1 cup 2% sharp cheddar, Simply Shredded frozen shredded potatoes, lowfat wheat thins made into crumbs in the food processor, 1/4 cup melted Smart Balance trans fat free margarine) and it was still SUPERB. I divided the mixture into 2 8"x8" pans and topped one with 1/2 the crumbs and 1/2 the melted margarine and baked it. The other pan is in the freezer with a baggy of the crumbs on top, ready to bake for another scrumptious meal. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This was a really good casserole. The potatoes were very moist and had lots of flavor. As my son puts it “the potatoes had yummy goop.” I omitted the onion and it was great. I would say next time I am going to mix the butter in though because when you get the potatoes from the oven there is a ½ inch of grease sitting on top that is very unappealing. So, next time I will mix the butter instead of just drizzling it on top. Great recipe though, and I will defiantly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Very good! My family puts french fried onions on the top instead of the crushed potato chips. This adds a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Unbelievable!! Delicious!! I added a can of Campbell's Pepperjack cheese soup instead of the cream of chicken and used cornflakes instead of potato chips. Have made it twice now and everyone still rants! Don't forget to top it off with a little garlic salt! Thank you Bea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I prepared this recipe with fat free sour cream, Health Request Chicken soup, and fat free Lays chips. It was delicious and it got rave reviews from my spouse and son. It was great warmed up the second time too. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
My aunt makes a casserole similar to this every year... all I can say is YUMMY! The potato chips really add to the whole potato theme and enhance the dish overall. A highly recommended indulgence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Excellent! I made this using the french fried onions as one other reviewer suggested and it was wonerful! (something not to make while on a diet though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
By adding a jar of diced pimentos and a 2 TBLS of green onions, it really brought some color to this dish. Everyone was pleased with this sidedish and its so easy I would not hestitate to make it again! It's even good w/out the potato chips (and you can avoid addtl calories - if your counting them)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I make a version of this that my husband's side of the family asks me to make EVERY year for Christmas...they call them "those amazing potatoes". I buy the o'brien style of shredded hashbrowns that have the onion & green pepper in them. If you can't find them, put in your own onion&green pepper...it adds alot of flavor. I never add butter to this dish, with all the cheese, sour cream & cream soup it's not necessary and you won't miss it, trust me! I also like to add fresh minced garlic to the mix...and I also never bother thawing out the hashbrowns as this recipie implies (with the need to press out the excess water) just mix it all together with the hashbrowns in their frozen state. Other soups work nicely, too. We have a vegetarian in the family so instead of cream of chicken I use cream of onion (great flavor booster!) cream of celery or cream of potato. Since I always double this for a crowd, I use two different types of soup. Cr. of onion is my favorite, though! If you want crispy browned edges, remove the foil or lid half way through baking. When it's all bubbly & browned around the edges, it's done. It takes a little over an hour and when doubled, takes more like 1 1/2 hrs. or so. I also think the chips make it too greasy. 2 cups of coursely crushed corn flakes (cereal) mixed with 1/2 c. melted butter is better, I think. If you use durkee fried onions, put them on the last 10-15 min. or they will burn! Don't forget to spray baking dish w/nonstick spray!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States