Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
So yummy! This is a favorite of ours. I never buy frozen potatoes to make this, though. I always just use my own potatoes peeled, diced, and par-cooked on stove-top before baking. I must have made a hundred times already, and probably will make a few hundred more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Great. Use O'brien hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I have been making a similar recipe for years. This is a favorite of everyone. I substitute velveeta for the cheddar cheese and crushed cornflakes instead of the potato chips. Also, no onion is in mine since my husband can't stand it. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Recipe was super easy to make and was delicious. I used 1 c mozarella and 1 c sharp cheddar. It made the potatoes more white with yellow threads running through - very pretty. Also, I didn't add any butter (already fatty enough!)and I used sweet maui onion potato chips crumbled on top and it was SOOO good. My boyfriend likes ham so I used two 8X8 dishes, one with added ham and one without. Great recipe - will use again and again. I might try adding broccoli or spinach next time for an easy veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by furayar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I didn't thaw the potatoes and it came out just fine. I used potatoes O'Brien and skipped the onion since those already have peppers and onions in them. I've also made without the potato chips and it's still yummy! Just mix the butter in with everything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
After melting my butter or margarine, I will saute my onions then put that in with everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
We all really liked this casserole, but in the future, I will heat the potatoes on the stove before putting them in the oven. Even after an hour, the potatoes were a little cold. I thought they were mostly thawed...but I guess not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My mother in law went for seconds! Also, I put half in a Ziploc bag and am freezing it. So I only used 8x8 pan. It was the perfect amount, and now i have this to use for another dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This is the closest recipe I could find here that matches the recipe my mom got at a recipe exchange. Great to see it's so hughly rated!! The only changes were mine called for "one large box of thawed frozen hashbrowns"; prabably just a four ounce box. Also, mine calls for one cup of sour cream. I don't know if a pint would be the same measurement or not..so there you go!! THANKS :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
First attempt - GROSS so I made it again today hoping I'd messed it up the first time. Unfortunately, I still don't care for it. It's definitely easy but in this case, a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States