Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Instead of dicing, I sliced the potatoes and boiled them just a little so that they were still firm. When adding other ingredients, I didn't mash them, because I didn't want a mashed potato casserole.. still wanted them chunky. I think boiling time would solve the soupy issue. I used cream of potato instead of cream of chicken, a little milk, and added pinch of salt, pepper, garlic, oregano, and basil. I used mozzarella and sharp cheddar cheese. Maybe I created my own recipe lol. This is definitely a recipe that needs tailoring according to your own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was easy to make and a nice change. The potatoes turn out very creamy and have a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I've made this recipe before using frozen hash browns and it was always one of my favorites. This recipe using mashed potatoes ruined the consistency. I served it for company and was very embarassed how soupy it turned out. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
my husband thought it was awesome. Although I added some olive oil about 2 tsps and I also added a large garlic clove. That helped with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was sooooo good however I made some changes. I used frozen southern hash browns that I heated in the microwave until the chill was off of them. I also did not add chopped onion and added almost a whole small container of sour cream. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was ok. I needed a cheesy potato recipe that didn't take too long and this one sounded good. I liked the idea of the chicken soup. I'll probably add some garlic salt to the mix next time for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
This was only okay to me. I was expecting a stronger flavor, but it was more subtle than I preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
it was great when i added sour cream and ketchup after cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Va Upham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
It turned out just as all the comments had suggested. It tasted great, and even my picky children enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kami Su

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
While it takes a bit of time to prepare, if you have the time, it's worth it. Very nice subtle flavour that compliments many dishes. I scallop the potatoes instead of mashing them and omit the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon

Potatoes, bacon, cheese...need we say more?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States