Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Instead of dicing, I sliced the potatoes and boiled them just a little so that they were still firm. When adding other ingredients, I didn't mash them, because I didn't want a mashed potato casserole.. still wanted them chunky. I think boiling time would solve the soupy issue. I used cream of potato instead of cream of chicken, a little milk, and added pinch of salt, pepper, garlic, oregano, and basil. I used mozzarella and sharp cheddar cheese. Maybe I created my own recipe lol. This is definitely a recipe that needs tailoring according to your own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was easy to make and a nice change. The potatoes turn out very creamy and have a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I've made this recipe before using frozen hash browns and it was always one of my favorites. This recipe using mashed potatoes ruined the consistency. I served it for company and was very embarassed how soupy it turned out. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
my husband thought it was awesome. Although I added some olive oil about 2 tsps and I also added a large garlic clove. That helped with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was sooooo good however I made some changes. I used frozen southern hash browns that I heated in the microwave until the chill was off of them. I also did not add chopped onion and added almost a whole small container of sour cream. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was ok. I needed a cheesy potato recipe that didn't take too long and this one sounded good. I liked the idea of the chicken soup. I'll probably add some garlic salt to the mix next time for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
This was only okay to me. I was expecting a stronger flavor, but it was more subtle than I preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
it was great when i added sour cream and ketchup after cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Va Upham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
It turned out just as all the comments had suggested. It tasted great, and even my picky children enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kami Su

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
While it takes a bit of time to prepare, if you have the time, it's worth it. Very nice subtle flavour that compliments many dishes. I scallop the potatoes instead of mashing them and omit the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States