Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
My mom makes this every year at Christmas time! Tho she uses a whole small potato, no milk, and adds a touch of vanilla. Also you will need LOTS more powdered sugar than called for. This is a very sweet and rich candy, and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Yeah - it works out fine, but you were WAY off on the amount of powdered sugar needed. I must have added at least 2 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
RECIPE WORKED GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I love this candy! My Grandma made it for us during the holidays and our family Christmas get together always included a few rolls of this. It looks so pretty when it is sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GareysGal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
My grandmother and I used to make this candy when I was a little girl, I love it! It tastes great with crunchy peanut butter too! Not exactly the quickest candy to make, it takes a lot of patience working with the potato and sugar(and a lot of sugar), but really worth it in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
Candy was delicious. Just like my grandmother use to make. The only thing is the powdered sugar amount is much more than what the recipe calls for. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Try eliminating the milk to get a stiffer texture. Mom never added milk. She taught me to make this when I was a child, and I remember having to add cups and cups of sugar. Delicious! A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This is the same candy my mother made when I was a child! Thanks for bringing back such wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
For fans of sweets and peanut butter, you can't go wrong with a modified version of this candy. There's an art to making it, as attested by all the advice. My family's rule of thumb: one very small potato, boiled in skin until falling apart, pureed (sans skin) and mixed with one pound of powdered sugar (more if a very "wet" potato). Needs plenty of sugar and patience when rolling out. Best served a bit aged (let cut pieces rest a day or two to dry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I can't believe I stumbled across this recipe!! My grandmother passed this recipe on to my mother who then passed it on to me! This is a very old (and delicious!) recipe. I don't make it often though because it is "too" good! Let's just say, I tend to overindulge! Wonderful if you've got a real sweet-tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States