Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My mother taught me how to make this candy when I was very young and her recipe called for 1 med. pot. a bag of conf. sugar and peanut butter. Also for the ones that are having trouble with the dough sticking, my mother always rolled it out on aluminum foil and raised the foil up as you roll the dough. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I loved these as a child! I made them this year for St. Patrick's day (with green food coloring in the sugar part). It was very tasty, but a little soft, even after keeping it in the fridge, even after adding 1/2 a bag of sugar instead of just 1/2 a Cup. Still, tasted jsut as good! I will definitely keep this recipe and try to perfect this childhood favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is the perfect recipe. My mom has made me these since I was a little child. Turning out does depend on the potato and the humidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My mother made this for us, definitely needs more sugar. My mother always boiled the potato with the skin on and let it cool over night, otherwise you couldn't get enough sugar to make a dough. There is no milk or butter in her recipe. Also shaping the dough into a long rectangle & rolling up like a jelly roll works best, then roll in wax paper & refrig. till set before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi H

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Recipe does not work...do not recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This has been a tradition in my family for decades. I don't use the potato though. I use almost of a lb. of powdered sugar emptied into a bowl and add milk by the tablespoon until I have a stiff dough. Vanilla can be added if desired, just be careful with the liquids. If dough needs to be stiffer simply add more sugar. I like to turn this out on a board to work in the final amt. of sugar. I have used flour in a pinch to roll out the dough and cover the rolling pin.Works out fine!! Roll out thin,spread with peanut butter, and roll up. Allow to cool in the fridge. Slice and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringgold, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I used a 1 pound box of powdered sugar.. But everything else was correct. I microvaved the potato like some other reviews said. (15 min) then added the full box of powdered sugar. Makes a fairly large roll. Says 6 servings?? Very large servings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I was very glad to find this recipe. It was great. You just need a lot more confectioners sugar than what it calls for. I tood the advice of other reviewers and let the dough get cold. Tuurned out pretty good for the first time I have ever made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
it didn't turn out at all like it was suppose to. it never turned into a dough ball. it was just like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
The recipe that was handed down to me was alot easier. All you do is bake or microwave a reg. size potato, mash, add one bag of powdered sugar, roll out,spread peanut butter on top,roll up, rap with plastic rap and refridgerate. Then slice up. This is alot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Homestyle Potato Chips

See how to make crispy homemade potato chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States