Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
At Christmas time. I divide the candy into two bowls and add red and the other green food coloring. then roll out and add peanut butter. Really makes it looks like the holidays. So pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
My Grandmother Bruington (born 1880) made this recipe all her life but did not add milk or butter. A drop of vanilla is nice but not necessary. She started with one small peeled potato, boiled it and mashed with a fork then proceeded to add a LOT more confectioners' sugar. This always made 3 rolls and we all loved it. This recipe is likely more than 100 years old...proof it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This pic is nothing like what it really looks like. It is a powder sugar jelly roll. I originally got this recipe from my mother in law and the frist time I made it my husband about fell over. It is one of his childhood favs. Just add a lot of sugar. Until it is a relatively dry dough that you can roll out into a rectangle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Taste great! Needed more confectionary sugar than recipe called for but after that it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have a variation on this recipe where in place of the peanut butter, you add in coconut and dip in chocolate. 3 1/2 c powdered sugar; 4 c flaked coconut; 3/4 mashed potatoes; 1 tsp almond extract Mix all ingredients together, form walnut-sized balls & place on wax paper to dry. Chocolate coating: I melted the candy chocolate and decorated with sprinkles. This recipe will make around 60 balls. Great to give out for the holiday! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I LOVE Potato Candy! I have been making this with my grandmother and then my mom for years. A quick alternative to cooking potatoes just for this recipe is to use leftover mashed potatoes- either from a restaurant or from home. The ones I used this evening are from Emeril's Steakhouse, that makes them with heavy cream and butter and adds a bit of parsley. All I needed to do was to add vanilla (1 teaspoon). This method allows for less sugar to be used. For A Halloween treat, I also added red and yellow food color to make a pumpkin orange dough...DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Good recipe....however...needed more info. When calculating how much I needed to make it would have been nice to know what the serving size was. One piece per serving? Two pieces? If I want to make enough so that 10 people could have 5 pieces of candy I need to know how many pieces per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I was a child of the 50s and in our house there wasn't alot of "store candy". My Mother made potato candy in the summer and fudge in the winter. Thank you for posting this recipe. I'll be making this for my older brother for Christmas, along with some fudge. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROOFREDHEAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
this recipe works great, just had to add more sugar for stiffer dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This was a wonderful recipe and the tip from Meugeni was really helpful for me. My oldest daughter said it tasted like "Heaven". Thanks for sharing everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States