Potato Candy from Ohio Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
The flavor was good but I followed this recipe just how it was directed and it was too dry, this was my first attempt at making this candy so I will definitely make some changes the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTLSFAW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Potato candy has been a holiday tradition in my family for a very long time. You can make mashed potatoes from the dry flakes and it works well, too. I make it with both smooth and crunchy peanut butter. I also use Nutella, which is really good. There is a natural brand of peanut butters called Wild Friends - they have a chocolate-coconut peanut butter, and a cinnamon raisin peanut butter that is also good in this. My mother used to mix cream cheese or apple butter with the peanut butter. This is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirin Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I love using this recipe; a former housemate showed me how to make potato candy, but I take it one step further. I melt chocolate in a double boiler and drizzle some of it over the peanut butter before rolling the potato mix up, and then after the candy has been rolled, cut, and chilled, I'll either dip the candy into some of the melted chocolate or drizzle more chocolate over the candy pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lkdtrd
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I just made this and it's absolutely wonderful! It tastes just like my Pawpaw used to make when I was little. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkdtrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirbyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe must be regional as my mother is from Indiana and we had it growing up. Make sure your slices are thin....it's very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
My great grandmother used to make this every year at Xmas. In addition to the peanut butter kind she would drop by spoonfulls and put a candied cherry or walnut in the middle. Coconut can be added as well. This candy says Christmas to me! And btw I'm from Ohio too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My first attempt at this recipe. Turned out great! I have been looking for this recipe forever...I remember my grandmother making it when I was young. We lived in Ohio at the time. Made me wonder if this was a buckeye treat..haha. Anyway, thank you sooo much, it really took me back to a happy place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Yummy. My Dad use to make these at Christmas time for us as kids. Unless you tell folks, they'll never know you use mashed potatoes. Brings back sweet memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States