Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
So yummy! I made these this morning. I added onion powder, a touch of cayenne, and used Monterey Jack, cheddar, and mozzarella mix in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I am so excited to find this recipe! Except for the cheese and garlic, it is same as the one my mom made 50-60 yrs ago and I have lost it since! Thank you thank you. We used to put leftover gravy over them...oh so bad but so delicious!!! Can't wait to make them, with GARLIC - everything is better with garlic and fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I used instant (gasp) loaded potato mix by Idaho, added shred cheese (about 3/4 cup) and then followed the recipe exactly - minus the salts since the instant mix was already seasoned. It's pretty fabulous. I refrigerated the potatoes after mixing for about 30 mins, but the real key is taking your time during the cooking process. Sadly, I have an electric cooktop, but used low/med heat (let's call it 4:00) and cooked each side the full 10 minutes the recipe calls for. I did decide about 7-8 mins in to rotate the cakes (gently) to be sure it was browning evenly. I think this made a difference. In addition, I had some garlic butter (thanks Chef Shamy) that I cooked them in and feel that was not a bad decision at all. My hubby was pretty happy about the whole thing. So, either cook them all on a large griddle, or have a glass of wine handy to stand there for a couple of batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Made it tonight at dinner. I had read the reviews and was worried that it would be bland, so I shook on some Chachere's and cooked on medium heat because I'm impatient. I served it with fresh avocado and remoulade. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
They were a soggy mess...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I love these as a way to make use of leftover mashed potatoes.I follow the recipe exact and my family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieDirt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Like many reviewers said, this is a great base recipe. I made it as is but I think I would definitely try some different spices next time. I wasn't crazy about the garlic powder with this. It was a bit overpowering I think. I might add in sautéed onions next time with a little Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Addie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
We loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Just finished and it was fantastic!! BUT I changed it up. I had leftover roast baby Hubbard squash which I mashed with the leftover spuds. I added black pepper plus one of my home-grown dried Cheyenne chili peppers.....and extra old white cheddar. That was my supper...nothing else. Can't wait to eat the rest tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is what mountain folk do with their leftover taters. This is an old southern thing. My late husband's mom taught me how to make these. Yes, they can be bland so if you don't do bland add stuff! I usually just add minced onions and salt and pepper to mine. Going to try adding some diced ham and a bit of cheese tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States