Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
These were wonderful. I used leftover mashed potatoes, so they were already flavored and I stirred the cheese into the potatoes and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I give this 5 stars for having a nice base to start with. This recipe allows one to add flavors to the liking. I enjoyed feta cheese and chedder. Very very tasty! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This is the third time I've made this and each time I've spiced them up a little more. To make them not so bland, I added seasoning salt, more sweet onion and a BIG tbs CREAMY (not the really hot kind) horseradish sauce; took out the egg and used less flour. I now have them the way I REALLY like. I think the horseradish sause and leaving out the egg makes the difference. Not bland at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
I loved this recipe to use up leftover mashed potatoes. My mashed potatoes were already wonderfully seasoned (if I do say so myself!) with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. I did add a bit more salt, pepper and garlic powder to compensate for the added flour and egg. The consistency of these potato cakes was really nice, almost silky. I used reduced fat grated cheese, and might even omit the cheese next time. All-in-all, a very delicious and simple way to put leftovers mashed potatoes to good use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
these were fabulous!!! i used up left over mashed potatoes, (which i make with 'better than buillion', sour cream, milk, butter and & pepper-no salt due to the very salty 'B-than-B'). this combination for mashed potatoes makes for a rich flavor already, but WOW...made into a potato pancake, these were amazing. my whole family RAVED! the secret i found was to saute them in one spot til golden brown on the bottom, than very carefully flip them over in order to keep them from falling apart. keep your flame on medium high and be liberal with the oi. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi bites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This was a huge hit for my family. I did add more seasoning, and also a chopped onion. Next time I will try adding crumbled bacon. You can't go wrong if you add the things your family enjoys....have fun experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
These were fantastic- my husband thought they sounded weird but he ended up eating THREE!! I wouldn't change a thing- great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I added a chopped green onioin and a clove of garlic it tasted great i would love to know if any one knows how too make them crisper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
These were very tasty, easy to make and hubby loved them! The only change I made was adding a bit more garlic powder and about 1/2 cup crushed Durkee FF onion rings to the mix. I fixed some with and without cheese...equally as good! Thanks for this updated version to the old fashioned potato cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very, very, good!! I took advice and added extra garlic powder and 2 small green onions. I also just added the cheese to the mixture instead of adding cheese on top and a second layer of potatoe mixture. Because I fixed these as part of breakfast, and had fried bacon, I fried them in some of the bacon grease. Not very healthy, but VERY tasty!! The cakes picked up just enough of the bacon flavor. My husband was still talking about them the next day! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States