Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
the problem with some people saying this is bland, because it needed spicing up.. should then spice it up,,, when you read what goes into a recipe and it sounds like something else should be added, then add it. I never take a recipe and follow it just exact, inless it sounds like nothing else would make it taste better, if you like things spicy ,put something spicy in . I use this web site for ideas, and this one was a great idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
THIS is the way I've had potato pancakes since I was a kid. In fact, I'd never had the uncooked shredded kind until I was an adult. I guess it was thanks to Mom's frugality. The way these are put together is a little thick for my taste. You can mix the cheese right in if you want and make them the thickness of regular pancakes. I like the fact that they have a higher amount of crispiness that way. I also like to mince up some onion into mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
There's a lot I learned for this, but its a great recipe with some help! I used loaded instant potatos after reading other reviews. I started with the heat on 2, then got tired of waiting longer than 10 minutes and cranked it to 4... went much faster. Don't flip the cakes early or you will be scraping them back together in lumpy pancake pieces. (check by lifting a piece to see if they are brown) I used a square flat pan so I rotated them halfway through to keep them evenly browned. Just keep this in mind when you do this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
These pancakes are light and fluffy. I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing to remember is to have your mashed potatoes at room temperature. They cook very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I thought this was going to be a great recipe for left over mashed potatoes, but I found it to be very, very bland. It would be really easy to make it taste better if you mix in some of the things you would normally put on a baked potato. Green onions or bacon bits, etc. I doubt I would waste my mashed potatoes this way again. No one in my family like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This was great! So great that I took a picture of it! :P It was super easy to make with leftover mashed potatoes. The first time I made it, I made fresh mashed potatoes and the cakes were difficult to form because the potatoes were still warm. So I really recommend using leftovers. I only ended up using leftover potatoes, cheese, and oil to make my cakes. And it still tastes great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very, very, good!! I took advice and added extra garlic powder and 2 small green onions. I also just added the cheese to the mixture instead of adding cheese on top and a second layer of potatoe mixture. Because I fixed these as part of breakfast, and had fried bacon, I fried them in some of the bacon grease. Not very healthy, but VERY tasty!! The cakes picked up just enough of the bacon flavor. My husband was still talking about them the next day! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I loved this recipe to use up leftover mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving. I altered the recipe slightly by adding about 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 can of corn, 1/2 c chopped red bell pepper and using crumbled bleu cheese instead of cheddar. Serve with meatloaf or bratwurst and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I added the cheese to the potato mixture and played around with the seasoning....one time with onion and another with bacon. I cooked each side for about 4 minutes on medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Very tasty, took longer to cook than I thought it would but were nicely browned and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States