Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly.....they were kind of bland. I will probably try them again with some of the "extras" the other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNROBYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
These were fantastic- my husband thought they sounded weird but he ended up eating THREE!! I wouldn't change a thing- great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This was a huge hit for my family. I did add more seasoning, and also a chopped onion. Next time I will try adding crumbled bacon. You can't go wrong if you add the things your family enjoys....have fun experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
these were fabulous!!! i used up left over mashed potatoes, (which i make with 'better than buillion', sour cream, milk, butter and & pepper-no salt due to the very salty 'B-than-B'). this combination for mashed potatoes makes for a rich flavor already, but WOW...made into a potato pancake, these were amazing. my whole family RAVED! the secret i found was to saute them in one spot til golden brown on the bottom, than very carefully flip them over in order to keep them from falling apart. keep your flame on medium high and be liberal with the oi. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi bites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Mmm... I almost didn't change a thing... I just sprinkled some more shredded cheese on top of the cakes after they were done. I used cheddar-monterey jack cheese mix, since I was too lazy to shred the block of cheddar I had. It was still great. Will do it again, it was very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I agree with the other reviewers that these need a little boost to give them more flavor--any of the enhancements mentioned. On the other hand, they held their shape nicely and got a great crispy crust on the outside. I formed mine completely before putting them in the pan so they had a nice smooth outline. I would probably make these again when I had leftover mashed potatoes, but with something added to give them more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This is the third time I've made this and each time I've spiced them up a little more. To make them not so bland, I added seasoning salt, more sweet onion and a BIG tbs CREAMY (not the really hot kind) horseradish sauce; took out the egg and used less flour. I now have them the way I REALLY like. I think the horseradish sause and leaving out the egg makes the difference. Not bland at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
These were ok, but kind of bland. I think if I try them again I will add some real garlic and some onion. I also thought they were pretty thick, so I may just add the shredded cheese to the potato mixture and make a single layer patty. Basic recipe is ok, just needs a boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odell, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marseilles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
I loved this recipe to use up leftover mashed potatoes. My mashed potatoes were already wonderfully seasoned (if I do say so myself!) with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. I did add a bit more salt, pepper and garlic powder to compensate for the added flour and egg. The consistency of these potato cakes was really nice, almost silky. I used reduced fat grated cheese, and might even omit the cheese next time. All-in-all, a very delicious and simple way to put leftovers mashed potatoes to good use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
These were wonderful. I used leftover mashed potatoes, so they were already flavored and I stirred the cheese into the potatoes and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States