Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
My husband said it was tasty, that's the only reason it got two stars. I thought it was really weird. Odd texture. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
the problem with some people saying this is bland, because it needed spicing up.. should then spice it up,,, when you read what goes into a recipe and it sounds like something else should be added, then add it. I never take a recipe and follow it just exact, inless it sounds like nothing else would make it taste better, if you like things spicy ,put something spicy in . I use this web site for ideas, and this one was a great idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This was great! So great that I took a picture of it! :P It was super easy to make with leftover mashed potatoes. The first time I made it, I made fresh mashed potatoes and the cakes were difficult to form because the potatoes were still warm. So I really recommend using leftovers. I only ended up using leftover potatoes, cheese, and oil to make my cakes. And it still tastes great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
These pancakes are light and fluffy. I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing to remember is to have your mashed potatoes at room temperature. They cook very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I give this 5 stars for having a nice base to start with. This recipe allows one to add flavors to the liking. I enjoyed feta cheese and chedder. Very very tasty! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very, very, good!! I took advice and added extra garlic powder and 2 small green onions. I also just added the cheese to the mixture instead of adding cheese on top and a second layer of potatoe mixture. Because I fixed these as part of breakfast, and had fried bacon, I fried them in some of the bacon grease. Not very healthy, but VERY tasty!! The cakes picked up just enough of the bacon flavor. My husband was still talking about them the next day! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
There's a lot I learned for this, but its a great recipe with some help! I used loaded instant potatos after reading other reviews. I started with the heat on 2, then got tired of waiting longer than 10 minutes and cranked it to 4... went much faster. Don't flip the cakes early or you will be scraping them back together in lumpy pancake pieces. (check by lifting a piece to see if they are brown) I used a square flat pan so I rotated them halfway through to keep them evenly browned. Just keep this in mind when you do this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
These were not very good. Took way longer to cook than the recipe said and were kinda mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
These turned out really tasty with the help of a few more ingredients. I added garlic and onion powders, black pepper, sauteed chopped onion and green bell pepper and like another reviewer, I threw in some fried onions from the can. Didn't have any cheddar on hand so I used parm instead. To make life easier I used my favorite brand of instant mashed potatoes. You can pretty much add anything to these taters to suit your own tastes. Family loved them and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
These were very tasty, easy to make and hubby loved them! The only change I made was adding a bit more garlic powder and about 1/2 cup crushed Durkee FF onion rings to the mix. I fixed some with and without cheese...equally as good! Thanks for this updated version to the old fashioned potato cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States