Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
There's a lot I learned for this, but its a great recipe with some help! I used loaded instant potatos after reading other reviews. I started with the heat on 2, then got tired of waiting longer than 10 minutes and cranked it to 4... went much faster. Don't flip the cakes early or you will be scraping them back together in lumpy pancake pieces. (check by lifting a piece to see if they are brown) I used a square flat pan so I rotated them halfway through to keep them evenly browned. Just keep this in mind when you do this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
These were not very good. Took way longer to cook than the recipe said and were kinda mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
These turned out really tasty with the help of a few more ingredients. I added garlic and onion powders, black pepper, sauteed chopped onion and green bell pepper and like another reviewer, I threw in some fried onions from the can. Didn't have any cheddar on hand so I used parm instead. To make life easier I used my favorite brand of instant mashed potatoes. You can pretty much add anything to these taters to suit your own tastes. Family loved them and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
These were very tasty, easy to make and hubby loved them! The only change I made was adding a bit more garlic powder and about 1/2 cup crushed Durkee FF onion rings to the mix. I fixed some with and without cheese...equally as good! Thanks for this updated version to the old fashioned potato cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I added a chopped green onioin and a clove of garlic it tasted great i would love to know if any one knows how too make them crisper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly.....they were kind of bland. I will probably try them again with some of the "extras" the other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNROBYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
These were fantastic- my husband thought they sounded weird but he ended up eating THREE!! I wouldn't change a thing- great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This was a huge hit for my family. I did add more seasoning, and also a chopped onion. Next time I will try adding crumbled bacon. You can't go wrong if you add the things your family enjoys....have fun experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
these were fabulous!!! i used up left over mashed potatoes, (which i make with 'better than buillion', sour cream, milk, butter and & pepper-no salt due to the very salty 'B-than-B'). this combination for mashed potatoes makes for a rich flavor already, but WOW...made into a potato pancake, these were amazing. my whole family RAVED! the secret i found was to saute them in one spot til golden brown on the bottom, than very carefully flip them over in order to keep them from falling apart. keep your flame on medium high and be liberal with the oi. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi bites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Mmm... I almost didn't change a thing... I just sprinkled some more shredded cheese on top of the cakes after they were done. I used cheddar-monterey jack cheese mix, since I was too lazy to shred the block of cheddar I had. It was still great. Will do it again, it was very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States