Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Tripodious
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I actually didn't have any leftover mashed potatoes so I just whipped up a batch, seasoned and chilled them. This recipe was really good but you must be patient and let them cook, let the outside get a nice crunch to it. The potatoes I made were delicious (lots of garlic), but the end taste was nowhere near as flavorful, and then I realized I didn't account for the addition of extra ingredients...derp! Overall very good, very filling as well. Should be fun to try different cheeses and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tripodious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Fantastic base recipe. I added bacon bits, minced onion and some garlic and onion powders. I used cheddar cheese in the middle like the recipe called for and sprinkled some on top as the cakes were getting done. My entire family loved them! Definately a "make it again, Mom!" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
THIS is the way I've had potato pancakes since I was a kid. In fact, I'd never had the uncooked shredded kind until I was an adult. I guess it was thanks to Mom's frugality. The way these are put together is a little thick for my taste. You can mix the cheese right in if you want and make them the thickness of regular pancakes. I like the fact that they have a higher amount of crispiness that way. I also like to mince up some onion into mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I loved this recipe to use up leftover mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving. I altered the recipe slightly by adding about 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 can of corn, 1/2 c chopped red bell pepper and using crumbled bleu cheese instead of cheddar. Serve with meatloaf or bratwurst and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
My husband said it was tasty, that's the only reason it got two stars. I thought it was really weird. Odd texture. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
the problem with some people saying this is bland, because it needed spicing up.. should then spice it up,,, when you read what goes into a recipe and it sounds like something else should be added, then add it. I never take a recipe and follow it just exact, inless it sounds like nothing else would make it taste better, if you like things spicy ,put something spicy in . I use this web site for ideas, and this one was a great idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This was great! So great that I took a picture of it! :P It was super easy to make with leftover mashed potatoes. The first time I made it, I made fresh mashed potatoes and the cakes were difficult to form because the potatoes were still warm. So I really recommend using leftovers. I only ended up using leftover potatoes, cheese, and oil to make my cakes. And it still tastes great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
These pancakes are light and fluffy. I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing to remember is to have your mashed potatoes at room temperature. They cook very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I give this 5 stars for having a nice base to start with. This recipe allows one to add flavors to the liking. I enjoyed feta cheese and chedder. Very very tasty! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very, very, good!! I took advice and added extra garlic powder and 2 small green onions. I also just added the cheese to the mixture instead of adding cheese on top and a second layer of potatoe mixture. Because I fixed these as part of breakfast, and had fried bacon, I fried them in some of the bacon grease. Not very healthy, but VERY tasty!! The cakes picked up just enough of the bacon flavor. My husband was still talking about them the next day! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States