Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
oddly this recipe didn't come up when i simply searched for potato cake from the all recipes search engine. though it did come up when i searched on yahoo. after reading some reviews i mixed the cheese into the batter, and added some parsley and black pepper, i also fried up some chopped bacon the second time i made these and mixed it in. they came out so much better and i ate them with a little bit of sour cream. almost like a baked potato for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Yummy. I mixed the cheese in with the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
We loved these! I added some french fried onions and a slice of ham to the chesse stuffing. There are so many ways you can dress this one up. It will be a stand-by in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Breesport, New York, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I added the cheese to the potato mixture and played around with the seasoning....one time with onion and another with bacon. I cooked each side for about 4 minutes on medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I actually made a version of this yesterday without having seen this recipe. I used leftover Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes, from this site, and I didn't use any flour, and they turned out great--nice and crispy on the outside. I also grated just a little bit of cheese over the top, since the potatoes had Parmesan in them. I think the key is to use mashed potatoes that already have a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This tastes just like the potatoe cakes my Daddy used to fix us on rare occasions when I was a kid. I've tried a million times to replicate it, but always end up with greasy mush all over the skillet. I thought this tasted awesome. And my kids who can't stand mashed potatoes (which is why we always have left overs) just asked me for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Warmed potatoes just a little so they can are mixable. You can mix cheese in before pan frying. No need to layer. Added seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This is such a neat idea to use up mashed potatoes. I read the reviews and added some spices to the mashed potato mixture and chopped up some sausage and mixed it in there too. It was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is unnecessarily complicated--my family has been frying our leftover mash for years. It works best with potato that is several days old, and has become very stiff. Form patties by hand the way you would a burger and fry in butter. Adding cheese to the mix is an excellent idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
We've been making potato cakes for years out of nothing but leftover mashed potatoes. No flour, no eggs, nothing like that. Just the mashed potatoes. I wanted to try something different though so I picked out this recipe thinking the eggs and flour would make an already good concept even better. It was just okay though. Thumbs up for the idea, though. But I'll stick to our plain potato ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States