Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
What a great idea for left over mashed potatoes. The flour helps to bind them together. The only thing that I changed is that I used a tablespoon of potato, flattened it out, then some cheese, then some potato on top, and flattened them out into small medallions and fried them in some butter. My family raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
very good change somethings added cheese and onions even made some with a little shredded zucchini things I hade left over. worth 5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eightgrandat42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Holly Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I've made these for my husband a couple times and he loves them. They're easy to make and very versatile. I can sub whatever seasonings and cheeses I happen to have on hand that I need to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Followed it exactly. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mecookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Oh My! These were wonderful! I altered it slytly because I am a lazy cook-I mixed the cheese in with the potatoes right away and I used a bit more butter to fry them in, may-be a tablespoon and a half. Only down fall is in order to get that wonderful crispy crust you need to be patient. Really, don't try to flip them too soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Turned out very tasty , didn't use onions, topped with sour cream perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Use a nonstick pan and extra butter! I had a hard time getting this out of the pan... I used parmesan cheese and I liked the flavor better. Also could mix some leftover canned corn kernels into the batter. Pretty good use for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is good, But I put 2 eggs instead of one. I also added chives and a half of a small onion finely choped and extra garlic powder (I used the powder instead of the garlic salt). My daughter didn't care for them. But I that there easy to make and cook. You can add any herb's and spicy's you like to make it more yummy and heathly! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
My Dad used to make potato cakes, but until now I haven't had any for almost 30 years. I had some left over mashed potatoes, so I tried this recipe. It was fabulous! Instead of putting the cheese in the middle of the cakes, I mixed it in with the potatoes. The cook time (10 minutes per side over low heat) delivered a crisp outside. I also added garlic powder, onion powder and parsly. You can easily adapt this recipe to whatever flavors you and your family prefer. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent basic potato pancake recipe — very easy to customize. I add a shredded potato for texture and chives and paprika for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States