Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe!! Just needs a little salt. To each their own. Tastes like my great grandmothers! My son was iffy but tasted them as is the rule in my house and next thing u know they were gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Case
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These are the potato cakes that reminded me of childhood! I used my electric skillet and they turned out really well!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Case

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I added a little extra garlic salt and pepper and my family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TOM
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written, which everyone should do if they plan to review any recipe. It was absolutely wonderful! I could have added an extra pinch of garlic salt, but they were really good. They tasted just like the ones my mom made when I was growing up. This is definitely a recipe I will use again and again. Thanks, Dave, for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Craigsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
So yummy! I made these this morning. I added onion powder, a touch of cayenne, and used Monterey Jack, cheddar, and mozzarella mix in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I am so excited to find this recipe! Except for the cheese and garlic, it is same as the one my mom made 50-60 yrs ago and I have lost it since! Thank you thank you. We used to put leftover gravy over them...oh so bad but so delicious!!! Can't wait to make them, with GARLIC - everything is better with garlic and fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I used instant (gasp) loaded potato mix by Idaho, added shred cheese (about 3/4 cup) and then followed the recipe exactly - minus the salts since the instant mix was already seasoned. It's pretty fabulous. I refrigerated the potatoes after mixing for about 30 mins, but the real key is taking your time during the cooking process. Sadly, I have an electric cooktop, but used low/med heat (let's call it 4:00) and cooked each side the full 10 minutes the recipe calls for. I did decide about 7-8 mins in to rotate the cakes (gently) to be sure it was browning evenly. I think this made a difference. In addition, I had some garlic butter (thanks Chef Shamy) that I cooked them in and feel that was not a bad decision at all. My hubby was pretty happy about the whole thing. So, either cook them all on a large griddle, or have a glass of wine handy to stand there for a couple of batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Made it tonight at dinner. I had read the reviews and was worried that it would be bland, so I shook on some Chachere's and cooked on medium heat because I'm impatient. I served it with fresh avocado and remoulade. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
They were a soggy mess...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I love these as a way to make use of leftover mashed potatoes.I follow the recipe exact and my family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieDirt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States