Potato, Broccoli and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is such a great recipe. Made a nice sized pot for my family and they loved it! I used 8 cups of water along with 6 cubes of bullion. I also added the broccoli with the potatoes instead of doing it separately. I added 2 tablespoons of flour and 2 cups of milk. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Wonderful as is. Family LOVED it. No substitution of ingredients was necessary. To save time, I cooked broccoli with the potato (adding it last 8 minutes of boiling time) and puree'd all of it. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cb0604
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great recipe. Few changes I made. I didn't have onion so I used about 1/2 cup of dry onion flakes. Added 3 crushed Garlic cloves. Added 2 cans Swanson chicken broth and 1 cup half and half instead of bouillon and water. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clea Carty
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I used 6 c of water with 6 veggie cubes(prefer that flavor over chicken), 5 c of cubed potatoes, 2 c onions, 3 c broccoli, garlic and also garlic powder. Followed everything except I put the broccoli to cook with the last 5 mins of the potatoes. Also put the chopped garlic in the last 2 mins of the onions. In the end, added a 1/2 c evaporated milk for some extra creaminess, garlic powder to taste, and used a potato masher to break up everything but still keep some texture. Then added some sliced carrots I had boiling in veggie broth on the side. It was absolutely yummy! Will be making again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clea Carty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Next time I will decrease potatoes, and increase broccoli. I used chicken broth I and added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe didn't really hit the spot. It was watery, not creamy, and not very cheesy and the potato sort of overwhelmed all other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Served the cheese (and some sour cream) on the side. I also added garlic. Made a tasty (and healthy with serving cheese on the side) and quick meal. I used steamer broccoli and this was a quick, no-fuss meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by mikepalm
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Big Hit!!! My fiancé is vegetarian, so I used veggie Bouillon instead of chicken. Next time I may add a little Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is one of the best soup recipes that I have made! I added 3 chopped garlic cloves along with the onions, I also added 2 finely chopped carrots for color. Then I pureed half the soup mixture with out the broccoli, then threw in the raw broccoli and cooked until tender then added the cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Soup tasted great, but my goof up was that my cheddar cheese clumped up into a big mess! Not the recipe's fault at all. I think maybe my heat was a little too high. We ate what we could. I'll try it again when I get over my anguish at loosing an expensive chunk on cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States