Potato, Broccoli and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I just finished eating this wonderful yummy soup, and it was so easy to make. I did make a few adjustments: I used 4 cups cubed russet potatoes, 1 1lb. bag frozen broccoli flowets, 1 c. chopped onion as I thought 2 cups would be over powering, in place of the bouillion cubes and 5 cups of water I used 2 14oz. cans chicken broth and 1 cup water also added 3 crushed garlic cloves, and only used 8 oz. sharp cheddar cheese. I cooked the broccoli in with the potatoes as other reviewers suggested and then pureed 1/2 the soup and it turned out nice and creamy. This will be a regular in our house during the winter months. Thanks Ruth for sharing this 5 ***** recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Awesome! Of note, you can add raw broccoli to the soup a few minutes prior to pureeing in a blender. This way, you don't have to cook the broccoli separately. I also added white pepper, red pepper flakes, savory, and garlic powder. Next time, I'll definitely saute garlic with the onion, as I think that would make this awesome soup even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was excellent! I sauteed the onion, added a clove of garlic, fresh ground pepper and a handful of baby carrots, then just cooked them all with the potatoes and broccoli in the broth. I pureed the entire thing (use a blender--a food processor splatters!) and tasted it. It was so delicious that I decided the cheese was optional. It also did not require any additional salt. I'm serving it tonight with homemade garlic croutons and just a sprinkle of sharp cheddar. Thank you for this wonderful, adaptable recipe. It's now in my recipe box and on my list of ideas for food to bring to sick friends. I'll bet you could easily turn this into a delicious vegan meal by using vegetable broth and omitting the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
good recipe. i do not think it is necessary to use the same amount of cheese as broccoli... this can be a very healthy soup. I used olive oil instead of butter, added way less cheese, and I didn't see the importance of cooking the broc seperately.. it can be added a little after the potatoes and boils fine... This was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Wow, this is really good, and easy for a soup. I made it twice recently, because it went over so well. Both times I had to use frozen broccoli. The first time I followed the recipe as written. Yum! The second time I added garlic with the onion, I added fresh carrots with the broccoli, and I added about 1/2 cup of sour cream just to see how it would taste. Both ways are really good, so if you are creative, create away; either way you're going to have a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This is one of my favorite soups. It was so simple to make and it turned out great. I substituted vegetatarian bouilon cubes for the chicken and I cut out one step. I put the broccoli in w/ the potatoes to simmer rather than have a separate step in cooking up the broccoli. Seemed to work out great. Thanks Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2001
I made this for my family and put some diced up leftover ham in it, it was wonderful.My fussy 2 year old even ate some.Easy to make and very tasty, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
We just LOVED this soup!!! We added a can of evaporated milk for a little extra creaminess, and put the entire batch of soup into the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
My husband doesn't even like soup but he said I could make this anytime, he even made sure I sent in a positive review! It was soo good and easy. Thank you! T. Hawthorne Houston, TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I have been looking for a great recipe for Broccoli Cheese soup, and this is definitely it! It is not time consuming and it tastes wonderful. I have added some fresh garlic to the recipe to add even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKYD20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States