Potato, Broccoli and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I used chicken stock (only 4 cups) instead of the boullion/water combo, and added the broccoli to the pot with 5 minutes left to simmer to just save dishes. Everything worked out well. I also pureed the entire pot since my potato cubes and broccoli were rather large. Ends up very thick and delicious, and I used only about half the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
In all honesty, I don't like rating less than a 5 star, but in this case, I can't. While the recipe is simple enough, the taste was way too bland. I did what others suggested and cooked 3 large cloves of garlic with the onions, but to no avail. I also added garlic powder at the end, which did help it a little, but there is no real flavor to this dish. It's edible, but it still sits in my fridge. I'm glad others have liked it, but I would not make this again. I am sorry I couldn't give this a better review, as some simple recipes are AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I sauteed the onion with butter along with a little celery and minced garlic. I peeled, chopped, boiled and then pureed the broccoli stalks separately, then added to the pot. (I also pureed half the pot's contents before adding that.) I added the cut tops of the broccoli after everything else was all cooked. Went a little light on the cheese, also added some chopped baby carrots, fresh parsley, salt, both black and white pepper and some dill weed. Oh, and used veggie bullion cubes instead of chicken , just because it was all I had on hand. Came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missf1017

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Roslindale, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This soup is amazing! It is so great, I think I could eat it every day! I run half through a food processor and it makes it so creamy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Followed the recipe but the texture was awful! It was too watery and didn't taste like a cheesy soup at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was great. We added some bacon and chives which made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I change this recipie up a little bit by not blending it. I like the chunkier pieces..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candleraymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made the recipe as is except I added a few spices that help with homeopathic remedies to helicobacter pylori since my boyfriend has this and it is transmissible. I added cumin seed, tumeric, oregano and thyme. It was amazingly good with the spices added. I sauteed the broccoli separate as per the direction and let it finish tenderizing in the pot. I also pureed most of the soup instead of half of it. I was delicious. I only gave it 4 stars because I added spices that I think added to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Great recipe. Pretty basic, but the kids loved it! Put in some crushed red peppers after the kids ate. That did the trick. I also put the broccoli in with the potatoes at about 9 minutes before the potatoes were done. Simple & yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Didn't change a thing...very yummy!! I chose to put all the soup in the processor, but that's just a personal preferance. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM2CUTIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States