Potato, Broccoli and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This recipe is quick and easy, makes a lot followed others advise and sauteed garlic with onions and did a quick smash with a potatoe masher Will make again and have saved to my box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applezo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cayce, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Really good, my suggestion is don't cook the potatoes too long, they will get mushy and the soup will turn into baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgentM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was really good, the only adjustments i made were personal ones like I didn't do the butter and onion, I added garlic and I only used 2 1/2 cubes of bouillon. tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I liked the recipe. Only issue was that the cheese coated the spoon . Tasted great and because my daughter is a nutrition student i have to b careful. About nutritional breakdown . I found it very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cochranejm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I want to give a 4.5... I loved this recipe. No fuss, no flour, lots of easy instructions. Add add add the cheese at the last 10 minutes of cooking. They will burn otherwise. I had two cups of broth from a can, a cup and a half of water, and the rest was milk. It's so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I had my wisdom teeth removed and needed some soft foods to eat. This has been a life saver! I pretty much pureed it completely. Also only used 2 bouillon cubes instead of 4, also used vegetable cubes since i didn't have chicken on hand. I LOVE LOVE LOVE cheese, but would also reduce the amount of cheddar used to about 2 cups or less. Awesome recipe and will make this again (also for those without scales, i used about 6-7 medium potatoes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Pretty amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I didn't exactly follow the quantities.. I just took the ingredients and added until it tasted good. I was super impressed. I served it with some fresh crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Photo by SkippyMom
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Awesome recipe. Great starter recipe if you have to start from the beginning and have never cooked something like this before. I had leftover boiled potatoes, steamed broccoli and a box of low sodium chicken broth, so I used that my second time around. I added all of that to sauteed garlic and onion, simmered it until it was very tender and used my immersion blender to smooth it all out. PERFECT. I added a cheese mix [shredded cheddar/monteray jack] b/c that is what I had on hand and chopped up some frozen broccoli in my mini chopper, tossed it in for a bit of darker color and texture. Pepper to taste. Thank you Ruth so much for an amazing recipe. I love yours and adapting leftovers to it works well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkippyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I gave it 5 stars - turned out great but onion flavor was too much. I made it with 1 cup red onion, 2 tbls. margarine, 3-4 cloves garlic, 2 lbs. red potatoes (better texture), 3-4 cups water, 5 tsp. Better than Bouillon reduced sodium Chicken Base, 4 cups broccoli (I figure the more the better), 2 cups fresh asparagus, and velveeta cheese added to your own preference, and fresh ground black pepper only, I add salt if needed when soup is done. After sauteing onion I added water, broccoli, asparagus, garlic, bouillon, and potatoes all in same pot and boiled it , draining some liquid out later before I began to puree half of it.(keep liquid in case soup needs extra flavor, it can be cooked down /reduced then added back to soup) Velveeta is added,black pepper to taste, plus small amt. of heavy cream was added for richness, and topped w/homemade croutons. It is too good, I was on my second bowl before my hubby finished his first and in 14 yrs. that's never happened! Yeah, it's good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1stMATE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States