Potato, Broccoli and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I used 3 C chicken stock in place of 3 C water since I didn't have bouillon, used frozen broccoli, and added some diced ham. Not exactly the potato soup I was looking for, but not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Tastes so rich and amazing even without the cheese! (And i'm a cheese addict) Per some other suggestions, i used a little less onion and added garlic, substituting bacon grease because I didn't have butter, then I added frozen broccoli to the nearly cooked potatoes and then just blended the whole thing with a stick blender. It tasted so great i almost didn't want to add the cheese, but it was grated so i through it in. I was prepared to add some half & half as I was skeptical about the creaminess of the soup since there's no cream in the recipe, but i didn't need it at all! Add a little fresh cracked pepper on top when serving and it's perfect. Wow, wish I'd bought my stick blender years ago, who knew I was missing out on amazing soups like this one?!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
My whole family liked this, including three kids who generally dislike soup. I used velveeta cheese, and substituted vegetarian broth for the chicken. I cooked the broccoli with the potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
MMMM, I just made a pot of this soup, and it is delicious! I'd give it 5 full stars, but as it is, it's a touch on the bland side. I added a few cloves of garlic while sauteing the onion, and that has helped. As a bit of a guilty pleasure, I've crumbled a strip of bacon on top of each bowl. Delicious! I'll definitely make this again, and will likely puree the whole soup rather than half - it's a consistency preference. Thank you Ruth for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is a delicious soup. I only make half for the 2 of us. I have made it as is and sometimes I trade some of the potato for more broccoli. It comes out greenish, a neat idea for St. Patty's Day. I recommend removing the soup from heat, and gradually whisking in the cheese so it doesn't curdle. I used sharp cheddar. Also it is nice to use a stick blender directly in the soup pot. Like others, I also cooked the broccoli in with the potatoes toward the end. I cooked till real tender. Thank you Ruth from Susie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Flavor was OK. I cooked the broccoli with the potatoes per the comments to simplify. I then used an immersion/stick blender to puree and the end result was a grainy mess rather than smooth. I will not make this again, but this is partially due to my tweaking not working out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Yum! We are vegetarian so I sub veggie broth for the chicken and it works great. Definitely just cook the broccoli with the potatoes for a few minutes to avoid an extra step and extra pan/steamer. I also like to add a bay leaf and about 2 tsp poultry seasoning to give it a bit more depth of flavor, be sure to remove the bay leaf before pureeing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Easy and good. I didn't puree the soup because I like it chunky. Other than that I followed the recipe and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is delicious! The kids loved it. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States