Potato, Broccoli and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
The appearance of this soup is a huge put-off. And the texture isn't much better! I ended up adding corn starch to thicken it, and i served it over white rice, and chicken, because there was no way we could eat it as soup. The taste was fine after seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronna Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This recipe rocked my world! I made it for my bf, though, and since he's a vegetarian, I substituted the bouillon cubes for one can of cream of mushroom soup + 2 cans of water to dilute it (so that my soup could come to a boil w/o burning). I also halved the amount of cheddar cheese as I didn't want to overpower the subtle flavors of the broccoli and potato. I'd recommend this to anyone; it makes a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I added two finely grated carrots for extra nutrition and used chicken broth instead of bouillon cubes and water. An immersion blender works very well with this recipe. I added more small chopped broccoli after blending other ingredients. When we reheated the leftovers we added chopped ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Had some potatoes that were getting old so I made this wonderful soup. It was easier to make than brownies! I made 3 servings and it turned out perfect. I did exactly what the directions said to do. There's really no need to add a bunch of other stuff to this soup its wonderful as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This was good. I used chicken broth instead of water and bouillon. It needed about 1 teaspoon of salt, a pinch of cayenne, and some garlic powder. To make it creamy I added a can of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I added fresh chicken broth and chicken too it. It was amazing and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very good. I took other reviewers suggestion to put broccoli in at the end of the potato cooking time. I made some other little tweaks, like adding garlic, only pureed about 1 C, added less cheese, but it is still very tasty. Definitely a recipe that can be easily tweaked for your preference. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is fantastic soup. I was initially concerned because it made such a big pot of soup for two people, but between the two of us, we consumed 5 bowls of it for dinner last night. We just couldn't stop eating it. It's that good. I followed the recipe to the T and it doesn't need any changes, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Storm713
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I loved this recipe!!! I kept the broccoli and cheese seperate so my family could add as much as they preferred. My sister-in-law added bacon bits, I added tomatoes and sour cream. My girlfriend added sour cream with red chili pepper seasoning. The texture of the soup was perfect, used chicken stock and skipped the margarine. I will be making this more often. Thank you for the add
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Tasted very bland. Kinda like baby food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States