Potato, Broccoli and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I made this recipe tonight to use up some broccoli and potatoes that were on their way out. I didn't have an onion or butter so I used an onion soup packet. Like other reviewers I added the broccoli to the potatoes after about 10 of the 15 minutes of cooking time. I used an immersion blender to break up enough chunks to get the soup to the creaminess I wanted but still leaving some chunks behind. I only had about a cup of cheese, so that's all I used, and I had a little sour cream that was about to expire (~1/4 cup), so I threw that in too when I added the cheese. Great, flexible recipe. The mister added Tabasco to his bowl. I tried it too and it's a delicious way to give it a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Cut back on potatoes next time. Was too thick. Added sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
First time ever making a creamy purée soup and it was so easy even my husband can make it,which he did, with a wee bit of help from me! delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is a great recipe! I made a few changes, but this recipe guided my changes! I used 2 cups low sodium chicken broth, 3 cups water and 3 chicken bullion cubes. I sautéed minced garlic with the onions. I got the idea from other reviews to just cook the broccoli with the potatoes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele Brown
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I just made this recipe with 8ozs of Velveeta Cheese. Added about 5 finely shredded little carrots at the end & topped with a few bacon bits. Turned out AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is such a great recipe. Made a nice sized pot for my family and they loved it! I used 8 cups of water along with 6 cubes of bullion. I also added the broccoli with the potatoes instead of doing it separately. I added 2 tablespoons of flour and 2 cups of milk. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Wonderful as is. Family LOVED it. No substitution of ingredients was necessary. To save time, I cooked broccoli with the potato (adding it last 8 minutes of boiling time) and puree'd all of it. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cb0604
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great recipe. Few changes I made. I didn't have onion so I used about 1/2 cup of dry onion flakes. Added 3 crushed Garlic cloves. Added 2 cans Swanson chicken broth and 1 cup half and half instead of bouillon and water. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clea Carty
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I used 6 c of water with 6 veggie cubes(prefer that flavor over chicken), 5 c of cubed potatoes, 2 c onions, 3 c broccoli, garlic and also garlic powder. Followed everything except I put the broccoli to cook with the last 5 mins of the potatoes. Also put the chopped garlic in the last 2 mins of the onions. In the end, added a 1/2 c evaporated milk for some extra creaminess, garlic powder to taste, and used a potato masher to break up everything but still keep some texture. Then added some sliced carrots I had boiling in veggie broth on the side. It was absolutely yummy! Will be making again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clea Carty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Next time I will decrease potatoes, and increase broccoli. I used chicken broth I and added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States