Potato Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I have to give this a 5 star! I was looking for a recipe that emulated Martin's potato rolls. This didn't, however I loved the texture. It was light and fluffy, yet had a heavier mouth-feel than I expected. Very good. The flavor isn't a strong potato flavor that I was going for, but I was pleasantly surprised. The texture is also very good as hamburger buns. My suggestion is to add a little more potato and instead of shortening, add vegetable or canola oil. I also kneeded it for about a half hour, just because I got lost in thought and realized it when I looked at the clock. proofed very nicely in a bowl using any pan spray with a damp towel draped across the top. personally, I let my breads proof in a warmed oven, and they rise amazingly well. I took half of the recipe and made rolls, and the other half made a twist bread out of. (rolled it into an inch thick rectangle, cut the half dough in half, twisted two pieces, and repeated with the other side. placed them side by side in the loaf pan tucking the ends under. I'll take a picture before I slice into it. I also use a double-egg wash. 1 egg with a tablespoon of water while dough is well... dough. then just before finishing I brush it again. All in all, very well done, and tasty. I can say it was a LOT easier to make in the kitchenaid mixer with a dough hook than it would have been to make by hand, but hey if you want to, go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
WOW!! This bread is amazing! Some reviewers said that their bread was dense, but my bread was incredibly light (perhaps because I let them rise a little longer on the second rise). It is soo tender! My family really enjoyed this recipe...the bread it produced was my best yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I substituted sweet potato and brown sugar. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is my favorite bread. I've made it twice in the past two weeks. The first batch I replaced 1/2 cup of the water with milk, which I scalded and added butter instead of the oil called for. The second time I used only the water called for. I think using the milk makes a more tender loaf. I got two beautifully risen, light and fluffy loaves from this recipe using only about 5 cups of flour. What I like most about this bread is the flavor. The yeast does not overpower the bread's flavor, it's more of a back note, which I think is perfect. I used the rapid rise yeast and reduced the amount to 3 1/2 tsp. Thanks, Judy, this will be made again and again, my family absolutely loves it...and so do I. . BTW:..Do not expect this bread to taste like potatoes. Potato has a very neutral flavor. It's purpose is to fuel the yeast and add moisture and lightness to the bread. Make sure you use only enough flour to produce a slightly tacky feeling dough if you want the bread to turn out light and fluffy. About 5+/- cups of flour should work. Again, feel the dough, it should be smooth and tacky, not sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Very hearty bread. I used butter instead of shortening and unbleached wheat flour. Very flavorful and espcially good right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
YUMMY Bread! I've been looking for a potato bread recipe for years and this is it. I made this to go with some Guinness Stew and it was fantastic. I cut back the salt to half and couldn't manage to work in all the flour, but the bread was still solid but not heavy and SO delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was delicious! I made it today to go along with Thanksgiving dinner. Very moist. Would make again. One thing I might mention is that I used only 5 cups of the 6.5 cups of flour called for and even that was stretching it. Not sure why. Maybe because it's so dry out here in West Texas!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
Really tasty. I also tried Daffy128's suggestion with sweet potato and brown sugar...this is wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
I made this to bring to a friend's house for dinner. It was a big success, everyone liked it very much. If you have time to putz around making bread, this is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICADEZ
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is a great bread, it's also quite easy to do. I made a change, and would make another, but a wonderful basic recipe. My Aunt won the Colorado State Fair when she was in high school with a potato bread. I didn't have the recipe available, but I remembered that it used dry milk. So I added in 2 Tbsp dry milk, and it make it very sweet and smooth. The change that I would make is one suggested by another reader. She let hers rise longer before baking it to make it lighter. I agree, you should double the time on the second rise. I made it 50% longer, and I wish it was a little more. Also, be warned you can only make 2 cups of potato from 1 potato if you have a huge tuber. I had to make up the difference with some emergency instant mashed potatoes. So I would correct it to say 1 very large, or 2 medium potatoes. With just a few tweaks, you will LOVE this simple bread. It makes great rolls too! (Just make sure to cut baking time down to 20 min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States