Potato Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Excellent bread. I tweaked it a bit. I used bread flour. Five and a half cups and butter instead of shortening. Used milk to come up to 2cups, as I remember my mother using milk in her potato bread. I also added wheat gluten. The result was light and fluffy. My husband said this was his favorite bread. Thank you for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving this year at my mother-in-laws. It was the first yeast bread I'd made in a while, but it turned out pefect. The instructions are very easy to follow and all the amounts were accurate. Everyone loved it, even my husband who isn't really into bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
It's a wonderful recipe. I used the leftover mashed potato fm our New Year dinner and with all the garlic and herbs, it just made this bread even more savory. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful. It came out so soft! I did end up using quite a bit less flour like other reviewers mentioned, and it took a little longer to rise, but my house is cold and that isn't unusal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This bread doesn't last long around here. I made it with leftover mashed red potatoes and I was a bit worried about how heavy and dense the dough was, but it turned out lovely. Made it again with the same great results. Soft yet substantial, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Yummmm!!! This is so good. The only changes I made was to use margarine instead of shortening and I doubled the recipe. A delicious treat eaten warm with butter and honey. Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Delicious bread! Soft and fluffy with a chewy crust. My second rise did take a bit longer for the dough to double in size (about 40 min) but make sure you are using the correct type of yeast! "Active dry" and "rapid rise" yeast do have different baking methods and you may have problems with the rising process if you try and interchange them. I used closer to 5 c of flour, but a lot of that depends on your humidity, how much water you added to the potato mix, etc. Getting the texture of the kneaded dough right (soft and elastic) is much more important then trying to get in all 6 1/2 c of flour. I brushed an egg wash over the tops and they were a little darker then I would have liked within 40 min so next time I will check it a little earlier. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Good bread--just a little too thick for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I made this with left over garlic mashed potatoes - it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIOPEIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was delicious! I made it today to go along with Thanksgiving dinner. Very moist. Would make again. One thing I might mention is that I used only 5 cups of the 6.5 cups of flour called for and even that was stretching it. Not sure why. Maybe because it's so dry out here in West Texas!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States