Potato Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Good bread--just a little too thick for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I made this with left over garlic mashed potatoes - it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIOPEIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was delicious! I made it today to go along with Thanksgiving dinner. Very moist. Would make again. One thing I might mention is that I used only 5 cups of the 6.5 cups of flour called for and even that was stretching it. Not sure why. Maybe because it's so dry out here in West Texas!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I have to give this a 5 star! I was looking for a recipe that emulated Martin's potato rolls. This didn't, however I loved the texture. It was light and fluffy, yet had a heavier mouth-feel than I expected. Very good. The flavor isn't a strong potato flavor that I was going for, but I was pleasantly surprised. The texture is also very good as hamburger buns. My suggestion is to add a little more potato and instead of shortening, add vegetable or canola oil. I also kneeded it for about a half hour, just because I got lost in thought and realized it when I looked at the clock. proofed very nicely in a bowl using any pan spray with a damp towel draped across the top. personally, I let my breads proof in a warmed oven, and they rise amazingly well. I took half of the recipe and made rolls, and the other half made a twist bread out of. (rolled it into an inch thick rectangle, cut the half dough in half, twisted two pieces, and repeated with the other side. placed them side by side in the loaf pan tucking the ends under. I'll take a picture before I slice into it. I also use a double-egg wash. 1 egg with a tablespoon of water while dough is well... dough. then just before finishing I brush it again. All in all, very well done, and tasty. I can say it was a LOT easier to make in the kitchenaid mixer with a dough hook than it would have been to make by hand, but hey if you want to, go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This bread is very delicious. I tweaked it a bit. I added about a 1/4 c. of milk and then used all of the flour. It produced a very soft loaf. I made it in a boule (round) shape and it was very beautiful. the other loaf I made in a loaf pan, and it was not so pretty but still very yummy. Can't wait to see what my co-workers think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
YUMMY Bread! I've been looking for a potato bread recipe for years and this is it. I made this to go with some Guinness Stew and it was fantastic. I cut back the salt to half and couldn't manage to work in all the flour, but the bread was still solid but not heavy and SO delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This is my standard recipe for pizza crust dough. I tweeked it a little by adding less salt and a little more sugar. I use the quick rise yeast instead of the active-dry yeast. I preheat my oven to the warm setting and then shut it off right before I put the bowl of dough, covered with a moist towel, in to rise. I never have trouble with the dough not rising. I just love the flavor of this bread. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
WOW!! This bread is amazing! Some reviewers said that their bread was dense, but my bread was incredibly light (perhaps because I let them rise a little longer on the second rise). It is soo tender! My family really enjoyed this recipe...the bread it produced was my best yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This was so good, and it impressed my family. They asked me if I used instant mashed potatoes, and I proudly told them, nope, I used real potatoes. Every last bit of this bread was gone in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
This bread was great, and it keeps well. This will be my standard recipe when I have left-over mashed potatoes. Thumbs up and Thank-you Judy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States