Potato Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristine Whipple Clay
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I don't often make my own bread so it was a huge time commitment and my arm got tired from kneading, but the recipe was perfect and totally worth it in the end! I used a whisk attachment during the mixing phase and let it rise a little longer for both rise times and it came out very tender, soft but sturdy and rose well. You have to work on the outside to keep it from crusting too quickly. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by William Dutchman Hutcheson
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Amazing! Approved by the pickiest 6 year old kid ever. Added bonus: the entire apartment building smells amazing now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I just tried this today and my entire family loved it! I used bread flour, instead of APF, and brown sugar instead of white sugar. I also used instant yeast, because that's what I had on hand and the dough rose beautifully. Oh, after reading comments about reducing the amount of flour to 5 cups, I was sure that was all I'd need, but the humidity in my country made it necessary to use the full amount. That's also probably why I had enough for one big loaf and a dozen big buns. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasig City, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I have not tried this yet but I love potato bread. This may be a dumb question but could this same method be used in a bread maker?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan F
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Since potato size differs, I used two. After setting aside 1/2 cup of the cooking liquid, I seperated the cooked potatoes from the rest of the water, mashed the potato and used 1 1/4 cup mashed potato and 3/4 cup cooking liquid to make the potato mixture. This worked perfectly for me and if you are nervous about having inconsistent results, I hope it works for you too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan F

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Light and fluffy with a chewy crust. Excellent as written. The loaf was a bit smaller than usual, though. I might recommend 1.5x recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Ok, this bread is so yummy it turned out great to me. Mine did not raise much but that's cause I did not let the water cool so make sure you do that. Other then that it is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Oh my. Can you say TOAST? We LOVE this bread! I made it with instant potatoes (made them with butter and cream). Let it rise longer on the second rise, and it came out WONDERFULLY! Toast. omnomnom. Toast nom nom nom. Light enough, but not airy. Ideal density and crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now. This recipe makes a beautiful, golden brown loaf of bread. I did use margarine instead of shortening and the potatoes were cooked with fat-free chicken broth and some fat-free evaporated milk. My daughter's favorite bread has always been my homemade honey wheat bread. This is now her favorite and she wants to try it made with sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This was a great recipe. family loved it and its one of the simpler potato bread recipes. Like many others I found that about 5 cups of flour, give or take, worked best. This is now my go to recipe when I have company coming over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashslillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States