Potato Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I'm a breadaholic, and this is one of my favorite breads! I followed the recipe to a tee, then added 1 tbs. of fresh rosemary, a 1/2 tsp. of lemon pepper and that made it all the better, to me. Didn't use a bread machine, instead I let it mix and knead for 5 min. in my KitchenAid. Let it rise for an hour, punched it down, then let it rise again for 30 min. Baked it for 25 min. at 400 degrees. Bread goes excellent with the "Mushroom & Potato Chowder" from this site. The bread is five stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I use this recipe to make rolls and my family absolutely loves them. They come out very moist and light. I mix the dough on the pasta setting on my bread machine, shape them into balls and then let them rise for half and hour. I brush them with beaten egg and water and dust them with flour then bake them at 350 deg.F for 23 mins. The only problem is that my kids like them so much that I have to make them every 2-3 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
This bread is excellent. It is soft and has a nice texture. Prep time was quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Oh my this was good! I made it in my kitchenaid and shaped it into rolls. Super light and fluffy and delicious. I think this will be my new favorite bread recipe. I had bought instant mashed potatoes and my family hated them, so I wanted to use them some other way. This was perfect! Looks like I'll be buying instant potatoes again after all! I did have to add a little more water to get the right consistency. May just add a little less flour next time. This is always different for everyone in bread making, depending on the humidity, flour used, etc., and so I don't find this to be a fault of the recipe. Also, those who scored it lower because it didn't "keep" long... any homemade bread won't keep as long as storebought which has all the chemical preservatives, but it never lasts long enough in my house to know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Harvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is so darn good! I made mine with my kitchenaide mixer since I don't have a bread machine. Proofed the yeast with all of the water and the sugar for 20 mins. Placed yeast/water mixture in mixer bowl and slowly incorporated the dry ingredients. Worked like a charm. Let it rise first time 45 mins (it had doubled in size), then punched down and kneaded slightly. Formed into rolls (made 24) and placed in lightly greased baking pan. Baked for 25 mins at 350 degrees F. So very yummy! Thank you for the recipe Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This is my very favorite bread machine recipe. It's always very soft, has a nice texture and delicious taste. Unfortunately, without any preservatives it doesn't last too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Nice bread. I made the dough in the bread machine and then shaped into 8 rolls bc we were having salmon burgers for dinner. I let them rise for about a 1/2 hour, then baked at 400 for about 20 minutes. Good texture for rolls even though the recipe isn't written for them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This recipe did not work well in my Zo. It did not rise well, being undercooked near the bottom although the upper portion of the bread was nice. I've giving it 3 stars as I do think it would work better if not baked in the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this last night and am eating it as I write this review. I don't own a bread machine or a Kitchenaid mixer, so I made it by hand. I did substitute 1/2 cup of the water with milk, as I had no dry milk powder and I used all purpose flour plus 1 T essential wheat gluten. I also used 1 package of yeast, because I didn't have the type you measure out. It isn't very potatoy - but it is delicious with a great texture. I'll definitely make it again. This is what I did: I dissolved the salt and sugar in 1/2 + 1/3 cup 110 degree water, then mixed in the yeast. It sat for about 30 min. because I didn't have any potato flakes and had to run and get it. It was nice and foamy. Then I heated the milk to about 110 degrees and whisked it and the oil into the yeast. In another bowl I mixed the flour, gluten and flakes, then stired that into the liquid a little at a time until it could be turned out on a board and I kneeded in the remaining dry ingredients, kneeding about 10 minutes. I placed it in a oiled bowl, oiling the top, and let it raise until doubled. (I warmed my oven slightly then turned it off and sat the bowl in there, door cracked, because my house is cold.) Then I turned it out, patted it into a rectangle and rolled it up for the loaf. I put it in an oiled loaf pan and let it rise again, and baked at 350 for 1/2 hour. I actually forgot to set the timer, so when it looked done I "thumped" it to test it. Then I rubbed butter over the loaf to make the crust soft. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This recipe is great. It's easy and the bread turns out extremely moist. No changes to the ingredients were even necessary. I definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States