Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2000
This has been the BEST bread I have made so far with my bread machine. The only thing different I found was that I needed to add a bit more water. The recipe calls for 3/4 cup of water, but that didn't seem to be enough. I added about 1/4 cup more water and the dough then started looking better. Thank you for submitting this recipe and sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2000
This recipe is wonderfully moist and toasts great. Add some garlic and basil for a flavorful twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
This is a good recipe, but indeed it needs extra water (approx. 1 cup). I also ended up using a wheat blend flour for 2 of the cups (it's what I had on hand) and it worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
The first time I made this I put on the cooling rack and went outside to cut some herbs for the soup I was making to have this with,, came back, my lab had gotten up on the counter to eat it,she loved it, since then I have made it twice, it is great, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARMED_TWICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This recipe was really great! I don't have a bread maker so I will tell you the bake version. Let yeast, 1/2 cup warm water & sugar in bowl for 10 minutes. Combine the other ingredience including the 3/4 cup water. You will need this extra water. knead. Place in a clean bowl for about 2 hours or until it doubles in size. Punch down the dough and knead lightly. Place in an oiled bread pan and let rise for 1 to 2 hours. Lightly coat top in Olive Oil. Bake for 40 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This bread needs more water to form the ball . I add a 1/2 teaspoon more yeast , came out light rose up great . taste wonderful , i will make this bread for now on .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
light and soft. nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe is absolutely great. Nice and fluffy and soooo easy to cut just write for sandwiches. Wow I was so surprised. Love it. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CATHYDP464
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Wonderful with brown gravy from roast beef...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYDP464

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I just made this for the first time today, and I will have to agree with some of the other reviewers..there is not enough water. It was good I looked at the bread machine after I started it and before I went out for the day, otherwise there would not have been bread at all! Once I got the extra water in (probably to total 1 to 1 1/4 cup), the dough formed fine and it made a light and fluffy bread. Good flavor. I may tweek this recipe a bit. I prefer more potato flavor, and a sweeter dough. Otherwise though, this turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States