Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2000
This has been the BEST bread I have made so far with my bread machine. The only thing different I found was that I needed to add a bit more water. The recipe calls for 3/4 cup of water, but that didn't seem to be enough. I added about 1/4 cup more water and the dough then started looking better. Thank you for submitting this recipe and sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2000
This recipe is wonderfully moist and toasts great. Add some garlic and basil for a flavorful twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
This is a good recipe, but indeed it needs extra water (approx. 1 cup). I also ended up using a wheat blend flour for 2 of the cups (it's what I had on hand) and it worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
good, tasty potato bread. close to a recipe i had years ago that my dh and i used to make every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
The first time I made this I put on the cooling rack and went outside to cut some herbs for the soup I was making to have this with,, came back, my lab had gotten up on the counter to eat it,she loved it, since then I have made it twice, it is great, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARMED_TWICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This recipe was really great! I don't have a bread maker so I will tell you the bake version. Let yeast, 1/2 cup warm water & sugar in bowl for 10 minutes. Combine the other ingredience including the 3/4 cup water. You will need this extra water. knead. Place in a clean bowl for about 2 hours or until it doubles in size. Punch down the dough and knead lightly. Place in an oiled bread pan and let rise for 1 to 2 hours. Lightly coat top in Olive Oil. Bake for 40 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This bread needs more water to form the ball . I add a 1/2 teaspoon more yeast , came out light rose up great . taste wonderful , i will make this bread for now on .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
pretty good over all, but I like a little more patato taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
light and soft. nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This is a horrible recipe. It did not turn out at all and I am an experienced bread maker. The ingredients did not mix thoroughly (I have an excellent bread machine). It seems there is not enough liquid. I removed dough from the machine and tried to hand knead it but it still turned out horrible. Total waste of ingredients and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States