Potato, Bacon, and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I think this is a really good base recipe. First, I doubled the recipe and instead of celery, I used carrot and onion. And because I really wanted some great flavor (we don't like anything bland around here), I substituted one cup of chicken bouillion for one of the cups of milk. I didn't have any canned corn, but I thawed some frozen corn which was perfect. Then I just salt and peppered to taste. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I agree it is a good basic recipe, quick and easy for a week night meal. I substituted 2 cups broth for 2 of the cups of the milk. I had fresh corn so I used it. Used a little less celery and a little more carrot, just personal preference. A little pepper and it was very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Quite good. I didn't have celery or carrots, so I used some ground celery seed (about 1/2-1 tsp). I used half broth and half milk bc I didn't have enough milk, even for a half batch of the soup. Turned out very well. I served in rye bread bowls, which was good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This chowder was amazing. I substituted 2 cups of chicken broth for 2 cups of milk, I also added onion and used celery seed (since I didn't have any celery on hand) garlic-salt and pepper. My family loved it, licked the bowls clean. MMMM MMM GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryleesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I loved this. Also, added a can or cream corn. I did what others suggested and went with half milk, half broth. Also, added a little spice (parsley and thyme) and Johnny's seasoning. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Not bad at all, very hearty, but even with s&p it's missing a little something flavor-wise. The next day it's a little more flavorful (i.e. you can taste the bacon more) but even then, needs something extra. The only changes I made were to add an onion and an extra carrot instead of the celery, and use cornstarch instead of flour. Note: it is a potato chowder, not a corn chowder with potatoes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsVal
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Wonderful, much like I make it, but I don't add the extra veggies. The canned corn, potatoes and bacon, plus the flour, butter and of course milk. A little seasoning of salt and pepper, sometimes a pat of butter and all set! So simple, so comforting, so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I found that this barely served 6 adults as a main course and that was adding 3 extra cups (2 cups of chicken broth) of liquid, 1 onion and 2 potatoes. But the family raved about it. It was delicous and we all licked the bowls and the pot clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aa911911

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used 2 cups half & half & 2 cups milk and used creamed corn. We used this for our super bowl party & it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Delicious! I felt kind of dumb, because I read the reviews that said "I didn't have any celery," and I thought, "Who doesn't have celery?" Then I went to my fridge, and I didn't have celery. Anyway, I used green bell pepper, and it was good, although I'm sure the taste was different. I also replaced half the milk with chicken broth. This definitely wouldn't feed 8. It fed my husband, one-year old, 3 year old and me with no leftovers. It was delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States