Potato, Bacon, and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This was so good. Replaced some milk with broth and deglazed the veggie pan and added it to the chowder so I wouldn't waste all those good juices. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I used half onion and also 2 cups milk and 2 cups broth and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Simple and delicious... I changed things around just a little bit. I sautéed the carrots and celery in the butter, added a little onion, and then I stirred in the flour and milk. I used two cups of milk and one cup chicken broth and I used frozen corn and a can of creamed corn. I forgot the bay leaf but it was fine with just some salt and pepper. Endless possibilities with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
To describe the fabulosity of this recipe, I must explain that I'm fully aware that fabulosity is not a word, but it is just so good that it needs its own word invented for it. Seriously, this could be the mother recipe for so many others, it is wonderful! I always try my best to make a recipe exactly as written the first time in order to give it a true test, and even then, few move me to actually write a review. The smoky, thick-cut bacon is perfect, and cooking carrots and celery in the grease with the bay leaf is simply genius, it adds layers of flavor and complexity that would not happen otherwise--a little sweet, a little earthy. The can of corn adds just enough texture and crunch without overdoing it. It really is the perfect combination of flavors and textures, and even better, it's super easy! Simple ingredients combined in a masterful way, this recipe is definitely guest-worthy, and is going to the top of my recipe box. Thanks Kim R. for sharing your magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
So good! I am surprised this doesn't have more reviews. I stuck to the recipe almost completely. We don't like celery so I substituted it with onion and added better than bullion paste to the water. I love this so much that we have made it probably 10 times in the last few months. Play around with the bacon flavors. We used jalapeno bacon and it was really good and added a little spicy kick. Have also used turkey bacon (just add olive oil when cooking veggies if there intensify grease). Thanks for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very easy recipe! I used onions instead of celery, and substituted 2 cups chicken stock for milk. The result was a delicious and simple hearty soup! This recipe was so easy, it's now in the recipe box stored in my brain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This one's a keeper! Based on previous reviews, I subbed a yellow onion for the celery because that's my preferred flavor. I also made this a one pot dish by frying the bacon in my soup pot and then draining off all but 2 tbsp of the bacon grease. I then sweated the onion and carrots in the grease and added the flour once the onions were translucent. Stir and scrape the bottom for a few minutes then slowly incorporate the liquid: I used half milk and half chicken broth. Came out great and I've only got one pot to wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious! We both loved it. It was chunky with all the great fresh vegetables, and the creaminess of it was right on mark. All I did differently was to add a chopped onion. This is going to be great during fall and winter in this house! Thanks for an easy and great soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Add a small can of green chiles & it has more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I added garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States