Potato, Bacon, and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MsVal
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Wonderful, much like I make it, but I don't add the extra veggies. The canned corn, potatoes and bacon, plus the flour, butter and of course milk. A little seasoning of salt and pepper, sometimes a pat of butter and all set! So simple, so comforting, so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was good. Everyone liked it ( kids too) and cleaned their plates. I made corn bread on the side, that was great to go with it. I added these ingredients. ( I also did half milk, 1/2 broth) * 1 can cream of cerlery ( had no celery) * garlic and onion sauted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krayzie4him

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I loved this. Also, added a can or cream corn. I did what others suggested and went with half milk, half broth. Also, added a little spice (parsley and thyme) and Johnny's seasoning. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Delicious! I felt kind of dumb, because I read the reviews that said "I didn't have any celery," and I thought, "Who doesn't have celery?" Then I went to my fridge, and I didn't have celery. Anyway, I used green bell pepper, and it was good, although I'm sure the taste was different. I also replaced half the milk with chicken broth. This definitely wouldn't feed 8. It fed my husband, one-year old, 3 year old and me with no leftovers. It was delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This chowder was amazing. I substituted 2 cups of chicken broth for 2 cups of milk, I also added onion and used celery seed (since I didn't have any celery on hand) garlic-salt and pepper. My family loved it, licked the bowls clean. MMMM MMM GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryleesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
AWESOME! I added salt/pepper to taste but other than that I followed it to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
added onion as well. Didn't have quite enough milk so used 1 1/2 cup milk, 1 cup half & half and 1+ cups chicken broth. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I found that this barely served 6 adults as a main course and that was adding 3 extra cups (2 cups of chicken broth) of liquid, 1 onion and 2 potatoes. But the family raved about it. It was delicous and we all licked the bowls and the pot clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aa911911

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made this recipe as written. I was a little disappointed. It was fine, but not great. I did feel it needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Quite good. I didn't have celery or carrots, so I used some ground celery seed (about 1/2-1 tsp). I used half broth and half milk bc I didn't have enough milk, even for a half batch of the soup. Turned out very well. I served in rye bread bowls, which was good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States