Potato, Bacon, and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very hearty recipe! I added onions and decided to saute the potatoes in the bacon grease for a few minutes to absorb some of the bacon goodness. I used about 6 cups of milk (feeding many, including 2 big guys!) and doubled up the corn for taste. I used salt, pepper and garlic in saute which was wonderful. French Baguette to sop up the goodness! Mahalo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEN ZERI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I used rice flour so u really have to watch it sticking with that. Added salt, pepper and garlic powder. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is a great basic recipe. I changed it a bit to suit my taste a bit more. I omitted the carrot, added half a large yellow onion, diced, and substituted some ham stock for one cup of the milk and added about half a tsp of tarragon. I also added about 3 slices of breakfast ham, diced. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Not very exciting. Kinda bland. None one in our family really cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I have to say my husband and I made this and it was wonderful!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
We thought this soup was delicious! The flavors of the sweet corn and smoky bacon really complement each other well. I initially used four cups of milk but, when I added sauteed onions and mushrooms, it became more of a stew than a soup. I added chicken stock until it was the right consistency. I will absolutely make this again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I made this soup for the deli I work at. It came out really good!! I used sweet corn and had to add alot more milk then what it called for but it was very very tasty!! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was a great quick and easy recipe we are making it again tonight with the temp being 10 degrees this hearty soup will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaCharCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I (like others mentioned here) used two cups of chicken broth and two cups of milk rather than four cups of milk. Was a good meal for a snowy night. I'll keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coyote bob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
this is an amazing soup base. I tried some of the others suggestions and did 2 cups of half and half plus the chicken broth. sauted some garlic with the veggies and kosher salt. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States