Potato Arugula Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is an excellent summer salad. I got fresh arugula and garlic at the farmers market and was looking for something unique to do with them. I did make a few small changes, other reviews emphasized a sort of wilted arugula approach, so I followed their advice. I also substituted red wine vinegar and added 1/2 teaspoon crushed mustard and 1/2 teaspoon sugar. These additions helped balance out the vinegar and arugula bitters. I served it as a side to chicken parmesan for a friends birthday and by the end of the night there were no leftovers! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1JenBug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salida, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was excellent. I like baby arugula so used that, and also, didn't have red skin potatoes on hand, so used russet (steamed them until just done, about 15 minutes or so, so they weren't mushy). It worked out great and I thought the leftovers wouldn't keep well, because dressed greens usually don't, but the arugula was still the same the next day - it kept well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Amazing! This will definitely be added to our kitchen rotation. My husband said it was the best salad he'd ever had. It has a fabulous flavor, and it is so simple to make! I might add some shredded carrots and onions next time, but it is also delicious just the way it is. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I could taste the vinegar just a bit too much for my liking. I will try again and decrease the vinegar. Good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is an easy and yummy recipe! I used some extra arugula (thanks to my co-op box), so I heated them up a bit with water to help them "shrink" a bit. I also added a little onion that needed to get used up and served the dish warm... There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this two days ago to use some of the huge package of arugula that I purchaed at Trader Joe's. I replaced the white vinegar with red wine vinegar and used a little less than 1/4 cup of EVOO and only one clove of garlic. I followed others advice and put the dressing and arugula in with the potatoes while they were still warm. I thought the salad was good, nothing special...but when I ate the leftovers for lunch today, it was very good. I could taste the garlic and the spiciness of the arugula. I would recommend making this in advance and letting it sit for at least a day for all of the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great! I made some changes such as adding a chopped roasted red pepper and a chopped young sweet vidalia onion (greens included). I also added 2 small stalks of celery. In addition, i added a teaspoon of honey to the liquid ingredients (i also substituted apple cider vinegar for the white one). Delicious use of arugula!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
To be honest, I had fairly low expectations for this recipe. The ingredient list looked lack-luster, but I was wrong! It was so good I could have turned it into the main dish! I made a few modifications based on the other reviews. I added 4 chopped hard boiled eggs for richness and switched one tablespoon of the white vinegar for red wine vinegar but most importantly, I added one teaspoon of sugar to the vinaigrette to mellow out the tang of the vinegar. This is a great alternative to your standard arugula salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Yummy! I added eggs and green beans and made it a meal. We don't typically like arugula and I got some in my csa box. I was looking for something other than throwing it in a green salad. I think it would be good with bacon too. Will make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Elliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is a GREAT recipe. I added the potatoes to the dressing and arugula while they were still a little hot. They soaked up more dressing, and wilted the arugula a little which was wonderful. The flavor is really fantastic. I've made this at least a half dozen times, and got arugula in my CSA box today, so I'll be making it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States