Potato Arugula Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this two days ago to use some of the huge package of arugula that I purchaed at Trader Joe's. I replaced the white vinegar with red wine vinegar and used a little less than 1/4 cup of EVOO and only one clove of garlic. I followed others advice and put the dressing and arugula in with the potatoes while they were still warm. I thought the salad was good, nothing special...but when I ate the leftovers for lunch today, it was very good. I could taste the garlic and the spiciness of the arugula. I would recommend making this in advance and letting it sit for at least a day for all of the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great! I made some changes such as adding a chopped roasted red pepper and a chopped young sweet vidalia onion (greens included). I also added 2 small stalks of celery. In addition, i added a teaspoon of honey to the liquid ingredients (i also substituted apple cider vinegar for the white one). Delicious use of arugula!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
To be honest, I had fairly low expectations for this recipe. The ingredient list looked lack-luster, but I was wrong! It was so good I could have turned it into the main dish! I made a few modifications based on the other reviews. I added 4 chopped hard boiled eggs for richness and switched one tablespoon of the white vinegar for red wine vinegar but most importantly, I added one teaspoon of sugar to the vinaigrette to mellow out the tang of the vinegar. This is a great alternative to your standard arugula salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Yummy! I added eggs and green beans and made it a meal. We don't typically like arugula and I got some in my csa box. I was looking for something other than throwing it in a green salad. I think it would be good with bacon too. Will make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is a GREAT recipe. I added the potatoes to the dressing and arugula while they were still a little hot. They soaked up more dressing, and wilted the arugula a little which was wonderful. The flavor is really fantastic. I've made this at least a half dozen times, and got arugula in my CSA box today, so I'll be making it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I belong to a CSA program at an organic farm and received arugula. Had no idea what to do with it, and then I found this! It was a huge hit, though next time I might use a little less olive oil. On a recommendation I added seasoned salt and it certainly added to the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b00kbug

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aquebogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Light, tangy, refreshing. The salad was a great use for the arugula we grew in our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is a great alternative to mayo. Next time I am not going to use so much garlic. I am also going to swap out the white vinegar for some flavored kind or red wine vinegar. The dressing was strong!!! I used a medley of mixed small potatoes and that made it beautiful with all the colors. I also added the potatoes while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcardullo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Yummy, healthy, and easy to make!! I used lemon juice instead of the vinegar, added the arugula to the warm potatoes, and added some feta cheese crumbles at the end. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
When a friend's CSA box contained arugula, potatoes and fava beans, I went looking for something that used everything. This recipe was it. I also used lemon juice with just a bit of balsamic vinegar. And I added the arugula and the dressing while the potatoes were hot. I waited to add the fava beans until the salad was cool. They were a great addition. I'm making it again now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States