Potato and Shiitake Mushroom Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Yum, yum, yum. I substituted baby bellas for the shitakes and it was so good. Tastes even better next day. Next time, i will bake the day before and reheat with a little more cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I cut the recipe in half because I'm only cooking for two. I used dried shiitake mushrooms that I soaked in hot water for 30 mins, and fresh white mushrooms. I made exactly as written, except that I added a little butter after it was done. Very very good, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Really good! Really, really, really good!!! I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used less potatoes and didn't measure out anything except one cup of broth. Also, I didn't have any cream so I substituted it for a can of cream of mushroom soup. I basically just threw everything together here and it was fantastic!!! Everyone loved it. I tossed a bit of bread crumbs on top near the end to make it crispy. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b-unit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I thought this was excellent. My grocery store didn't have shitake mushrooms, so I used all button musrooms. I also only used about half as many mushrooms as the recipe called for, and was a little worried I didn't have enough. But since mushrooms have quite a strong flavor, I thought it was just perfect. It was definitely more like a fabulous scalloped potato recipe than a mushroom recipe, but that's what I was hoping for. Served it the Grecian Pork Tenderloin also from this site, which is another one of our family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was great and will probably become a Holiday potato dish. I did not add any thyme or rosemary (not a fan of either of these spices) and only used half the recommend mushrooms (1 pre-sliced pack of baby bellas) and it was still delicious. Next time I will bake a little bit longer so it is crustier on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jShizz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This dish was yummy! Just remember when cooking for a real vegetarian, we don't eat chicken or beef broth. I used vegy broth and it was delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRZ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Delightful! The only things I changed were to use 2 cups of half & half instead of 1 cup of cream and 1 half & half and to toss in a handful of chopped green onions. A great recipe, and I can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Excellent recipe, but it is not appropriate for vegetarians as it contains chicken broth. You would need to change this to vegetable broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I thought this recipe was very good. Next time I would add more cheese. I felt that it was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Delicious! Made it just as it said. Used good parmesan that I grated and I think that made a difference. Absolutely delicious...everyone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States